Forum Thread: Security threats

You are currently viewing a forum thread in the Secunia Community Forum. Please note that opinions expressed here are not of Secunia but solely reflect those of the user who wrote it.

This thread was submitted in the following forum:
PSI

This thread has been marked as locked.
codhauler Security threats
Member 14th Aug, 2009 01:38
Ranking: 0
Posts: 8
User Since: 14th Aug, 2009
System Score: N/A
Location: N/A
When I scan it finds that my IE 6 is insecure.when I try to correct this problem by going to the windows update. I cannot find any patch for IE6
Thank You

GoneToPlaid RE: Security threats
Member 14th Aug, 2009 07:01
Score: 5
Posts: 71
User Since: 1st Apr 2009
System Score: N/A
Location: Atlanta, US
on 14th Aug, 2009 01:38, codhauler wrote:
When I scan it finds that my IE 6 is insecure.when I try to correct this problem by going to the windows update. I cannot find any patch for IE6
Thank You


At present there is no solution for IE6's vulnerability listed in SA13251. That particular vulnerability is a spoofing vulnerability rather than a system vulnerability if another browser such as Firefox or Chrome is used as your default browser.

If you are using older Windows 9X programs on your computer, do not upgrade to IE7 or IE8 since these upgrades will delete two DLLs, one or both of which are commonly used by older Win9X programs. Yet Microsoft "claims" that these two DLLs are "Vista" DLLs and that they were never present by default on earlier operating systems. That is an outright lie. Those two DLLs have been a part of Windows since Windows 95. Over a year ago customers began complaining on various MS forums about IE7 deleting those two DLLs. Yet MS had already lied about it, so they then chose to never respond to the customer complaints to this day or to admit that they lied. Personally, I think this issue was part of their effort to force people to switch from XP to Vista.

If you aren't using older Win9X programs, simply upgrade IE6 to IE7 or IE8, or instead you could simply use Firefox or Chrome as your default browser.
Was this reply relevant?
+0
-0
codhauler RE: Security threats
Member 14th Aug, 2009 19:04
Score: 0
Posts: 8
User Since: 14th Aug 2009
System Score: N/A
Location: N/A
Thank You for the informative response , I do appreciate.
I have tried IE 7 and 8 and did not work to my satisfaction, stuck with IE6.
I started this computer 3 years ago with windows XP Home. Have upgraded to SP2 and SP3. I have no knowledge of WIN 9X.
Thank You
codhauler
Was this reply relevant?
+0
-0
This user no longer exists RE: Security threats
Member 15th Aug, 2009 01:59
codhauler, how much RAM does the system have?

IE7 and especially IE8 need more RAM to operate effectively.

Once you use IE8 with all of its features you will think that IE6 is like a pedal bicycle while IE8 is more like a modern automobile:
Stay Safer Online
http://www.microsoft.com/windows/internet-explorer...
Increased performance
http://www.microsoft.com/windows/internet-explorer...
Was this reply relevant?
+0
-0
codhauler RE: Security threats
Member 15th Aug, 2009 02:16
Score: 0
Posts: 8
User Since: 14th Aug 2009
System Score: N/A
Location: N/A
Thanks Yo, I appreciate. My system started out with 1.5gb. I now am with 675mb with virtual of 1.96 gb.
Ie7/ie8 worked ok but can't say i saw much difference. I did notice that they both completely changed the format of the icons, etc on my screens . I did not want to recongifure as it did not see the benefit. Is YoKenny your actual name or just ID ?

Thanks again
Was this reply relevant?
+0
-0
This user no longer exists RE: Security threats
Member 15th Aug, 2009 16:05
I don't understand what you mean by:
Ie7/ie8 worked ok but can't say i saw much difference. I did notice that they both completely changed the format of the icons, etc on my screens

YoKenny is my ID.
When I lived in Raleigh N.C. people would say Yo for hello.

Was this reply relevant?
+0
-0
codhauler RE: Security threats
Member 15th Aug, 2009 18:03
Score: 0
Posts: 8
User Since: 14th Aug 2009
System Score: N/A
Location: N/A


Hi YO All.
Sorry , I mean that when You go online and go to an URL there are many items at the top of the screen Eg Google Yahoo File favorites. Also the back and forwrd arrows. All of those items were reconfigured with IE8,
Checked my ram @635 now
Regards
George
Yup I know the Yo use as I travel to Florida yearly
Was this reply relevant?
+0
-0
This user no longer exists RE: Security threats
Member 15th Aug, 2009 22:12
I don't have Google Yahoo File favorites at the top of IE just the normal File Edit View Favorites Tools Help items.

You must have installed the Google and Yahoo toolbars that I do not have and I do not like any toolbar.

The back and forward arrows are on the left just like they always were before with the address bar.

I like XdN Tweaker to tweak various Windows settings and make IE put the bars in the propper place:
http://xenomorph.net/?page_id=336
Was this reply relevant?
+0
-0
codhauler RE: Security threats
Member 15th Aug, 2009 23:11
Score: 0
Posts: 8
User Since: 14th Aug 2009
System Score: N/A
Location: N/A
Ho Yo

Yup, I do have Google toolbar. I have condensed it somewhat to include a small Yahoo bar that has only McAfee Site Advisor. Not too cluttered. Looked at Xdn and wil download.
Btw I am in Toronto, where are You>>>>>>>>>>?
Was this reply relevant?
+0
-0
This user no longer exists RE: Security threats
Member 16th Aug, 2009 00:47
I don't like McAfee SiteAdvisor because it is not very good and even has sites that contain known malware even though it has been reported to them. I live way east of Toronto.
Was this reply relevant?
+0
-0
codhauler RE: Security threats
Member 16th Aug, 2009 00:55
Score: 0
Posts: 8
User Since: 14th Aug 2009
System Score: N/A
Location: N/A

YO , I agree, but i can't find anything better, so being good is ok in this world of cyber spam
Was this reply relevant?
+0
-0
This user no longer exists RE: Security threats
Member 16th Aug, 2009 01:35
Try Finjan SecureBrowsing:
http://securebrowsing.finjan.com
Was this reply relevant?
+0
-0
codhauler RE: Security threats
Member 16th Aug, 2009 14:05
Score: 0
Posts: 8
User Since: 14th Aug 2009
System Score: N/A
Location: N/A

Yo Kenny, Good morning.
I installed Finjan . It also installed a full toolbar. Don't like that.
How do I get just and icon to place it in my icon Tray etc
regards
Was this reply relevant?
+0
-0
This user no longer exists RE: Security threats
Member 16th Aug, 2009 15:01
Unlock the toolbars and drag Finjan up to the top right.
Was this reply relevant?
+0
-0
codhauler RE: Security threats
Member 16th Aug, 2009 15:23
Score: 0
Posts: 8
User Since: 14th Aug 2009
System Score: N/A
Location: N/A

Thank You, Yo Kenny, I do appreciate .Btw i do like Finjan
Was this reply relevant?
+0
-0

This thread has been marked as locked.