Forum Thread: PSI Paralyzer

You are currently viewing a forum thread in the Secunia Community Forum. Please note that opinions expressed here are not of Secunia but solely reflect those of the user who wrote it.

This thread was submitted in the following forum:
All Threads

This thread has been marked as locked.
mhuss PSI Paralyzer
Member 26th Aug, 2009 19:21
Ranking: 0
Posts: 2
User Since: 17th Apr, 2009
System Score: N/A
Location: N/A
When PSI runs a disk scan on my PC, it totally locks up the computer, to the point where I can't even right click on the task bar to start Task Manager (so much for adjusting task priority on the fly :P).

I saw there were a previous thread or two on this topic, but I saw no good solutions.

I'm running it on XP SP3, 3GHz dual core cpu, 2G RAM, all eSATA disks.

TM shows 1.4G phys mem available free when running my normal task load.

It would be REALLY NICE to make the PSI process priority a configurable option, as the product works well otherwise, and definitely provides a useful service.

--m

Slamgeden RE: PSI Paralyzer
Member 27th Aug, 2009 09:49
Score: 0
Posts: 181
User Since: 17th Jul 2009
System Score: N/A
Location: N/A
on 26th Aug, 2009 19:21, mhuss wrote:
When PSI runs a disk scan on my PC, it totally locks up the computer, to the point where I can't even right click on the task bar to start Task Manager (so much for adjusting task priority on the fly :P).

I saw there were a previous thread or two on this topic, but I saw no good solutions.

I'm running it on XP SP3, 3GHz dual core cpu, 2G RAM, all eSATA disks.

TM shows 1.4G phys mem available free when running my normal task load.

It would be REALLY NICE to make the PSI process priority a configurable option, as the product works well otherwise, and definitely provides a useful service.

--m


If you right-click on the process in the Task Manager, you can "re-nice" it (Sorry, I only know the UNIX term), meaning to lower it's priority.

--
Assorted Fnords.
Was this reply relevant?
+0
-0
mhuss RE: PSI Paralyzer
Member 28th Aug, 2009 02:10
Score: 0
Posts: 2
User Since: 17th Apr 2009
System Score: N/A
Location: N/A
Thanks for that, but as I mentioned, when the system is in "P.P." mode, I can't even start Task Manager...

--mark
Was this reply relevant?
+0
-0
Maurice Joyce RE: PSI Paralyzer
Handling Contributor 28th Aug, 2009 02:19
Score: 12325
Posts: 9,575
User Since: 4th Jan 2009
System Score: N/A
Location: UK
Mark,
Open Task Manager before running a scan with PSI.

Just tried it & they work side by side which could give more of a clue on this odd behaviour.

--
Maurice

Microsoft Surface 4 Intel i7 64Bit
Windows 10 Pro version 1809 Build 17763.404
16 GB RAM
IE & Edge Only
Was this reply relevant?
+0
-0

This thread has been marked as locked.