Forum Thread: avast insecure program

You are currently viewing a forum thread in the Secunia Community Forum. Please note that opinions expressed here are not of Secunia but solely reflect those of the user who wrote it.

This thread was submitted in the following forum:
PSI

This thread has been marked as locked.
llama3 avast insecure program
Member 28th Sep, 2009 19:11
Ranking: 0
Posts: 6
User Since: 2nd Jul, 2009
System Score: N/A
Location: N/A
does not agree with Alwil software...whats next?

Slamgeden RE: avast insecure program
Member 29th Sep, 2009 08:24
Score: 0
Posts: 181
User Since: 17th Jul 2009
System Score: N/A
Location: N/A
I think you need to flesh out the question in more detail. I, for one, don't get what you're trying to ask.

--
Assorted Fnords.
Was this reply relevant?
+0
-0
llama3 RE: avast insecure program
Member 29th Sep, 2009 14:01
Score: 0
Posts: 6
User Since: 2nd Jul 2009
System Score: N/A
Location: N/A
Sorry for the lack of proper language. Secunia states that I have an insecure AVAst program.

Avast says my program is up to date and is not insecure...so my logical question what is next?
Was this reply relevant?
+0
-0
This user no longer exists RE: avast insecure program
Member 29th Sep, 2009 14:42
Last edited on 29th Sep, 2009 14:44 What is the version of avast you are using?

I am using Build: Sept2009 (4.8.1356)

To see the version Right click on avast! icon in the taskbar then About avast!...

To update right click on avast! icon in the taskbar then Updating then Program Update
Was this reply relevant?
+0
-0
llama3 RE: avast insecure program
Member 29th Sep, 2009 17:10
Score: 0
Posts: 6
User Since: 2nd Jul 2009
System Score: N/A
Location: N/A
I have that same version and have updated so definitely Secunia is not reporting actual facts.
Was this reply relevant?
+0
-0
This user no longer exists RE: avast insecure program
Member 30th Sep, 2009 01:56
What operating system and Service Pack level?
What version of PSI are you running?
Current is v1.5.0.1

You can go to Secunia Profile then scroll down to Signature then input the system specifications

Also check My settings for correct settings.
Was this reply relevant?
+0
-0
llama3 RE: avast insecure program
Member 30th Sep, 2009 13:57
Score: 0
Posts: 6
User Since: 2nd Jul 2009
System Score: N/A
Location: N/A
ALl up to date. they replied to ignore. so thanks for your assist will not bother you any more
Was this reply relevant?
+0
-0
hammerdog RE: avast insecure program
Member 30th Sep, 2009 14:56
Score: 0
Posts: 2
User Since: 30th Sep 2009
System Score: N/A
Location: N/A
Llama I started having the same problem today as you have had. I tried what Secunia advised and I still get the Category 2 threat for Avast.
Was this reply relevant?
+0
-0
llama3 RE: avast insecure program
Member 30th Sep, 2009 15:00
Score: 0
Posts: 6
User Since: 2nd Jul 2009
System Score: N/A
Location: N/A
Apparntly they and Avast dont get along together their marriage is incompatible...use the ignore tab or the use simple aspect.
Was this reply relevant?
+0
-0
hammerdog RE: avast insecure program
Member 30th Sep, 2009 15:08
Score: 0
Posts: 2
User Since: 30th Sep 2009
System Score: N/A
Location: N/A
Llama...I tried updating Avast manually not using the link provided by Secunia and it worked. Make sure you use the program update and not just the IAVS update. It will require a restart. After restarting, scan with Secunia and you should be fine.
Was this reply relevant?
+0
-0
llama3 RE: avast insecure program
Member 30th Sep, 2009 15:11
Score: 0
Posts: 6
User Since: 2nd Jul 2009
System Score: N/A
Location: N/A
actually I did just that and the problem solved thanks
Was this reply relevant?
+0
-0

This thread has been marked as locked.