Forum Thread: Adobe Shockwave 11.5 installs Macromedia Shockwave 10 for backwar...

You are currently viewing a forum thread in the Secunia Community Forum. Please note that opinions expressed here are not of Secunia but solely reflect those of the user who wrote it.

This thread was submitted in the following forum:
Programs

Relating to this vendor:
Adobe Systems
And, this specific program:
Adobe Shockwave Player 10.x

This thread has been marked as locked.
Acheron Adobe Shockwave 11.5 installs Macromedia Shockwave 10 for backward compatibility
Member 10th Oct, 2009 04:43
Ranking: 0
Posts: 2
User Since: 3rd Aug, 2009
System Score: N/A
Location: N/A
When installing the full version of Shockwave 11.5.601 using the following link:
http://fpdownload.macromedia.com/get/shockwave/def...

this package also includes Shockwave 10.4.1.26 for backward compatiblity.

See also http://kb2.adobe.com/cps/403/kb403195.html for a white paper describing a mechanism in the Adobe Shockwave 11 player to automaticly download missing Shockwave 10 components.

However Secunia detects these Shockwave files as EOL but actually it's now part of Shockwave 11.

This user no longer exists RE: Adobe Shockwave 11.5 installs Macromedia Shockwave 10 for backward compatibility
Secunia Official 12th Oct, 2009 13:41
Hi

You can create an ignore rule in the PSI interface.

Use the advanced interface, go to the "Settings" tab, and create a new rule with the path you can to exclude.


--
Kind regards,

Morten Hansen
Secunia PSI Support

Secunia PSI
http://secunia.com/vulnerability_scanning/personal
eastexpert RE: Adobe Shockwave 11.5 installs Macromedia Shockwave 10 for backward compatibility
Member 16th Oct, 2009 22:28
Score: 0
Posts: 2
User Since: 24th Sep 2009
System Score: N/A
Location: UK
I tried to create an ignore rule, entering a name and path for Shockwave 10.

But after I told the program to save, the backslashes are carefully removed from path :( So I am unable to save.

Am I missing something, or is it a bug?
Was this reply relevant?
+0
-0
Mike406 RE: Adobe Shockwave 11.5 installs Macromedia Shockwave 10 for backward compatibility
Member 27th Oct, 2009 03:48
Score: 1
Posts: 19
User Since: 27th Aug 2009
System Score: N/A
Location: US
Last edited on 27th Oct, 2009 03:49
Instead of trying to manually create the ignore rule, go to the EOL section, then next to Shockwave 10 click the + button. Then in the Toolbox section, click Ignore Program, then Save Ignore Rule. It fills in the file path for you and won't erase the backslashes.

I just did this now because I had the same problem.

-Mike
Was this reply relevant?
+0
-0
eastexpert RE: Adobe Shockwave 11.5 installs Macromedia Shockwave 10 for backward compatibility
Member 27th Oct, 2009 03:57
Score: 0
Posts: 2
User Since: 24th Sep 2009
System Score: N/A
Location: UK
Wow, thanks for that!

May be the version of Personal Inspector is updated, this time the Ignore worked and the backwards compatible stuff is not annoying me any more.

I am a happy camper. Well it still thinks IE8 is "insecure" without solution, but I'm not going to move to Fire-shaggin-Fox. :)
Was this reply relevant?
+0
-0
Mike406 RE: Adobe Shockwave 11.5 installs Macromedia Shockwave 10 for backward compatibility
Member 30th Oct, 2009 23:52
Score: 1
Posts: 19
User Since: 27th Aug 2009
System Score: N/A
Location: US
Glad I could help. I figured this out when Google Chrome was using Shockwave 10, and not 11.
Was this reply relevant?
+0
-0
eristo RE: Adobe Shockwave 11.5 installs Macromedia Shockwave 10 for backward compatibility
Member 24th Nov, 2009 17:11
Score: 0
Posts: 1
User Since: 6th Apr 2009
System Score: N/A
Location: N/A
Here we are 10 months later and Secunia still flags Shockwave 10 as EOL when it appears to be a required piece of Shockwave 11. This would be a welcome fix to recognize and accept both when both are already installed rather than the suggested workaround at this late date.

Obviously if Shockwave 11 is not installed then flag the situation.
Was this reply relevant?
+0
-0
Picksplace RE: Adobe Shockwave 11.5 installs Macromedia Shockwave 10 for backward compatibility
Member 4th Dec, 2009 14:03
Score: 0
Posts: 1
User Since: 14th Nov 2009
System Score: N/A
Location: N/A
my secunia psi comes up and says it still insecure even after i down load it...thats a real issue for this program-gives false info...
Was this reply relevant?
+0
-0
Maurice Joyce RE: Adobe Shockwave 11.5 installs Macromedia Shockwave 10 for backward compatibility
Handling Contributor 5th Dec, 2009 00:31
Score: 12325
Posts: 9,575
User Since: 4th Jan 2009
System Score: N/A
Location: UK
What path does PSI give for the insecurity?

FINDING A VULNERABILITY FILE PATH
=================================

To locate the exact file that the Secunia PSI has detected, use or switch to the ADVANCED interface, then :

1 Click on the + sign of the programme to "expand' it.
2 Click on Technical Details in the Toolbox to see the installation path of the detected file. (Copy (CTRL+C) & paste (CTRL+V) the Installation Path of the file back to the Forum if U are unsure what to do next)).



--
Maurice

Microsoft Surface 4 Intel i7 64Bit
Windows 10 Pro version 1809 Build 17763.404
16 GB RAM
IE & Edge Only
Was this reply relevant?
+0
-0
wireaddict RE: Adobe Shockwave 11.5 installs Macromedia Shockwave 10 for backward compatibility
Member 20th Dec, 2009 03:25
Score: 3
Posts: 1
User Since: 4th Dec 2008
System Score: N/A
Location: US
Last edited on 20th Dec, 2009 03:32
C:\WINDOWS\system32\Macromed\Shockwave 10\SwOnce.dll

I upgraded to Adobe Shockwave Player 11.5.2.602 & according to Revo uninstaller I'm running this version but PSI shows I'm still using v10.4.1.27. I don't think 'ignore' is the best way to proceed here; looking forward to a fix for this. TIA. Regards.

--
Dave
Was this reply relevant?
+3
-0

This thread has been marked as locked.