Forum Thread: Is it possible to have a pc without any vulnerabilities?

You are currently viewing a forum thread in the Secunia Community Forum. Please note that opinions expressed here are not of Secunia but solely reflect those of the user who wrote it.

This thread was submitted in the following forum:
PSI

This thread has been marked as locked.
onsen Is it possible to have a pc without any vulnerabilities?
Member 10th Dec, 2009 03:26
Ranking: 0
User Since: 10th Dec, 2009
System Score: N/A
Hi all,This is my first time to post a question.
Is it possible to pc without level 4 threats,
all my windows application and some 3rd party all are at level 4 threat even after updating,patching.
love to know if others are the same.
thanks

This user no longer exists RE: Is it possible to have a pc without any vulnerabilities?
Secunia Official 10th Dec, 2009 08:14
Hi

In most cases it should be possible to patch all of your programs.
Some programs can be tricky to patch however, since the uninstaller fails to remove the old program when updating to a new version.

Some of your programs can also be detected in a backup folder.

Please try to post the name and path of the program the PSI detects as insecure and we will try to help you achieve a 100% score.

Example:
Program name 1:
c:/Program Files/Vendor Name/Program Folder/Filename.exe

michaelsalis RE: Is it possible to have a pc without any vulnerabilities?
Member 10th Dec, 2009 10:58
Score: 57
User Since: 18th Feb 2009
System Score: N/A
Hi onsen

As I understand it psi informs you of the software on your computer which does/does not have the latest security patches installed. Where it shows you have the latest patches it is the best you can do to keep your computer secure and without known vulnerabilites. It is possible the programs may still have vulnerabilities but you have done everything you can to avoid them.