Forum Thread: PSI and booting on Windows 7

You are currently viewing a forum thread in the Secunia Community Forum. Please note that opinions expressed here are not of Secunia but solely reflect those of the user who wrote it.

This thread was submitted in the following forum:
PSI

This thread has been marked as locked.
blanenc PSI and booting on Windows 7
Member 18th Jan, 2010 14:20
Ranking: 0
Posts: 18
User Since: 4th Jan, 2010
System Score: N/A
Location: CH
I've now changed my computers to Windows 7

Now PSI doesn't start when booting even though I've marked it.

With XP and Vista that worked fine.
Perhaps I don't see something

bveldhoff RE: PSI and booting on Windows 7
Member 18th Jan, 2010 17:45
Score: 0
Posts: 2
User Since: 25th Dec 2008
System Score: N/A
Location: N/A
I am having the ssame issue.
Was this reply relevant?
+0
-0
Maurice Joyce RE: PSI and booting on Windows 7
Handling Contributor 18th Jan, 2010 23:11
Score: 12325
Posts: 9,575
User Since: 4th Jan 2009
System Score: N/A
Location: UK
If U have set it up correctly in settings it does work perfectly with Windows 7.

Have U checked Control Panel>Notification Area Icons>to ensure U have not stopped the PSI icon from showing in the Notification Area (System Tray)?

--
Maurice

Microsoft Surface 4 Intel i7 64Bit
Windows 10 Pro version 1809 Build 17763.404
16 GB RAM
IE & Edge Only
Was this reply relevant?
+0
-0
bveldhoff RE: PSI and booting on Windows 7
Member 19th Jan, 2010 17:57
Score: 0
Posts: 2
User Since: 25th Dec 2008
System Score: N/A
Location: N/A
The icon and notification are enabled.

The program icon is in the "Startup" file.

The "run as administrator" box is checked.

The program is checked in the Startup tab of msconfig.

But it still doesn't start automatically.

This is a 64 bit version of Win7. The program is installed in the x86 program files. Is this incorrect?

Was this reply relevant?
+0
-0
Maurice Joyce RE: PSI and booting on Windows 7
Handling Contributor 19th Jan, 2010 18:05
Score: 12325
Posts: 9,575
User Since: 4th Jan 2009
System Score: N/A
Location: UK
Last edited on 19th Jan, 2010 18:05
No - Secunia like many other programmes is 32 bit. As previously stated runs perfectly on mine.

--
Maurice

Microsoft Surface 4 Intel i7 64Bit
Windows 10 Pro version 1809 Build 17763.404
16 GB RAM
IE & Edge Only
Was this reply relevant?
+0
-0
blanenc RE: PSI and booting on Windows 7
Member 20th Jan, 2010 09:36
Score: 0
Posts: 18
User Since: 4th Jan 2010
System Score: N/A
Location: CH
I think that all is correct, I'm the only user and administrator
The only thing that happened is that there wasn't created an entry in the startUp table.

I think that I try a deinstallation
Was this reply relevant?
+0
-0
North_Point RE: PSI and booting on Windows 7
Member 11th Feb, 2010 18:42
Score: 0
Posts: 1
User Since: 7th Nov 2009
System Score: N/A
Location: UK
I am having the same issue too.

It has been working fine on Win 7 RC (32 bit) but now having installed on Win 7 HP (64 Bit) it only works fine if I manually start it up but will not by itself.



--
Windows 7 (HP)
HP Intel Pentium i3 64 Bit
IE8
3GB RAM
Was this reply relevant?
+0
-0
This user no longer exists RE: PSI and booting on Windows 7
Member 12th Feb, 2010 00:42
Last edited on 12th Feb, 2010 00:44
on 11th Feb, 2010 18:42, North_Point wrote:
I am having the same issue too.

It has been working fine on Win 7 RC (32 bit) but now having installed on Win 7 HP (64 Bit) it only works fine if I manually start it up but will not by itself.

I believe you have to re-install PSI in when you go to 64 bit.

Download PSI:
http://secunia.com/vulnerability_scanning/personal

Stop PSI then run PSISetup.exe
Was this reply relevant?
+0
-0

This thread has been marked as locked.