Forum Thread: Vista 32 bit Service Pack 2

You are currently viewing a forum thread in the Secunia Community Forum. Please note that opinions expressed here are not of Secunia but solely reflect those of the user who wrote it.

This thread was submitted in the following forum:
PSI

This thread has been marked as locked.
puget1 Vista 32 bit Service Pack 2
Member 11th Feb, 2010 16:58
Ranking:
Posts: 612
User Since: 21st Dec, 2007
System Score: N/A
Location: US
Advised that Service pack 2 is a threat. I cannot find any update with Microsoft updates. This is part of the OS and is monitored by Dell Media direct and Windows Update which states everything is up to date. Please can anyone advise some form of reference. The new version of PSI is a little slow in it's response and will not allow an ignore rule . Time of new website is two hours ago. 0757hrs pacific standard time

--
Windows 10 64bit

There is No magic bullet in computing; only work a rounds.

















puget1 RE: Vista 32 bit Service Pack 2
Member 11th Feb, 2010 17:19
Score:
Posts: 612
User Since: 21st Dec 2007
System Score: N/A
Location: US
Additional direct from Microsoft land

http://technet.microsoft.com/en-us/library/dd53767...(WS.10).aspx

Plus a little additional: I do not run MS Office at all on this p.c.(lap)

--
Windows 10 64bit

There is No magic bullet in computing; only work a rounds.
















Was this reply relevant?
+0
-0
mogsi RE: Vista 32 bit Service Pack 2
Member 12th Feb, 2010 23:07
Score: 65
Posts: 55
User Since: 11th Feb 2010
System Score: N/A
Location: UK
Last edited on 13th Feb, 2010 01:37
No vulnerability SP2 showing on here. Last scanned two days ago mind. I think I'll let a few things iron themselves out before getting overly concerned.

Since rescanned..........sorted Flash insecurities.....but no SP2 problems.

--
Toshiba L300D AMD Athlon X2 Vista Home Premium 32bit OS SP2
Chrome 5.0.342.3 dev / IE8 1GB RAM+4GB Readyboost
Was this reply relevant?
+0
-0
puget1 RE: Vista 32 bit Service Pack 2
Member 13th Feb, 2010 13:19
Score:
Posts: 612
User Since: 21st Dec 2007
System Score: N/A
Location: US
Last edited on 13th Feb, 2010 13:56
Thanks Mogsi, as far as I can determine it has something to do with the avi buffer. However,there is no fix for 32 bit vista. Microsoft help deferred comment as Secunia is a third party program Here is the quote from Secunia SA38511
Microsoft Direct Show AVI File Parsing Buffer Overflow Vulnerability Have tried numerous fixes including a command module fix via download to notepad. Refer to this thread for more info:ttp://secunia.com/community/forum/thread/show /3166

--
Windows 10 64bit

There is No magic bullet in computing; only work a rounds.
















Was this reply relevant?
+0
-0
mogsi RE: Vista 32 bit Service Pack 2
Member 13th Feb, 2010 20:02
Score: 65
Posts: 55
User Since: 11th Feb 2010
System Score: N/A
Location: UK
Had a read of the advisory puget: but can't see how you are making the link between the noted insecurity in SP2 and that...unless you've additional information.
If, as you say, all patches have been applied........have you tried running CHKDSK to verify consistency of the disc ? Not very techie and limited savvy is me....so just a suggestion.

--
Toshiba L300D AMD Athlon X2 Vista Home Premium 32bit OS SP2
Chrome 5.0.342.3 dev / IE8 1GB RAM+4GB Readyboost
Was this reply relevant?
+0
-0
puget1 RE: Vista 32 bit Service Pack 2
Member 14th Feb, 2010 04:35
Score:
Posts: 612
User Since: 21st Dec 2007
System Score: N/A
Location: US
The bit about it being to do with a media player is by follow-up from doing the back ground of the problem starting with the tecnical explanation from Seceunia. I cross linked another forum regarding the problem. So far the problem does exist but I can not find any fix and or work around.

--
Windows 10 64bit

There is No magic bullet in computing; only work a rounds.
















Was this reply relevant?
+0
-0
mogsi RE: Vista 32 bit Service Pack 2
Member 14th Feb, 2010 09:52
Score: 65
Posts: 55
User Since: 11th Feb 2010
System Score: N/A
Location: UK
on 14th Feb, 2010 04:35, puget1 wrote:
The bit about it being to do with a media player is by follow-up from doing the back ground of the problem starting with the tecnical explanation from Seceunia. I cross linked another forum regarding the problem. So far the problem does exist but I can not find any fix and or work around.


I've just noticed that you are showing Service Pack 1 in your signature 'neath Home Basic OS....is that right ? And SP2 alongside MSXML 4.0 ?
In the Patched tab on Secunia I'm showing the following :-
Microsoft Windows Vista.......Service Pack 2
M/S XML 4.x 4.20.9876.0
M/S XML 6.x 6.205002.0
Did you run CHKDSK afterwards ?

--
Toshiba L300D AMD Athlon X2 Vista Home Premium 32bit OS SP2
Chrome 5.0.342.3 dev / IE8 1GB RAM+4GB Readyboost
Was this reply relevant?
+0
-0
puget1 RE: Vista 32 bit Service Pack 2
Member 14th Feb, 2010 19:09
Score:
Posts: 612
User Since: 21st Dec 2007
System Score: N/A
Location: US
Ran a chkdsk windows reports all files are ok however in an sfc state that some files are corrupt and attempted to be repaired check cbs log(event log). i have all updates compliant with MS advisory MS013.You have to have service pack1 but showing sp2 only reinforces the fact that Service pack2 has been installed. It is a layered situation. When down loading service pack 2 from Microsoft in an attempted overwrite MS is very quick to catch it and advises that the correct service pack installed. Oh well

--
Windows 10 64bit

There is No magic bullet in computing; only work a rounds.
















Was this reply relevant?
+0
-0
MaritimeRider RE: Vista 32 bit Service Pack 2
Member 14th Feb, 2010 20:11
Score: 22
Posts: 174
User Since: 15th Mar 2009
System Score: N/A
Location: CA
Hi Puget1. First,SP2 is not a security threat. MS puts out a number of updates grouped together and label it SP1 or SP2 the latter includes the time from the
offering of SP1.
I note that you are running home basic and Mogs shows home premium. When Vista first came on the scene, there was a lot of criticism because in order for the OS to run properly, extras had to be purchased. I ungraded my ram and plan on doing it again. The home basic may be the culprit if you have not upgraded. Check with your store where you purchased the computer or contact the manufacturer.It is worth investigating. Sorry I cannot help you more
Was this reply relevant?
+0
-0
puget1 RE: Vista 32 bit Service Pack 2
Member 14th Feb, 2010 23:52
Score:
Posts: 612
User Since: 21st Dec 2007
System Score: N/A
Location: US
It appears that the only thing left to do is to contact Secunia and see what they have to say

--
Windows 10 64bit

There is No magic bullet in computing; only work a rounds.
















Was this reply relevant?
+0
-0
puget1 RE: Vista 32 bit Service Pack 2
Member 18th Feb, 2010 17:11
Score:
Posts: 612
User Since: 21st Dec 2007
System Score: N/A
Location: US
Last edited on 19th Feb, 2010 22:41
****I GOT THE FIX****If you have all updates referred to in Microsoft security bulletin MS013. Then you are updated. What needs to be done to clear with Secunia and get your 100% is to uninstall Secunia, Restart to clear ocx files and remember to re-log to Secunia profiles as a current user. Secunia will perform a re-scan and pick up the correction giving you back your 100%. (It may have something to do with the new format.)

--
Windows 10 64bit

There is No magic bullet in computing; only work a rounds.
















Was this reply relevant?
+0
-0
XPS720 RE: Vista 32 bit Service Pack 2
Member 20th Feb, 2010 10:28
Score: 2
Posts: 5
User Since: 26th Oct 2008
System Score: N/A
Location: UK
As a general piece of information I have found that every now and again SECUNIA and or the system reporting gets it knickers in a twist and reports that items are insecure etc. when I know that they are correct. I have always found that uninstaling, closing the system down and restarting and then re instaling Secunia always solves the problem and puts me back to 100 % security. Is not much of a hassle to undertake.

--
Geoff Stone
Was this reply relevant?
+1
-0
puget1 RE: Vista 32 bit Service Pack 2
Member 20th Feb, 2010 18:09
Score:
Posts: 612
User Since: 21st Dec 2007
System Score: N/A
Location: US
Good thing to remember and sounds like a plan. Will have to remember

--
Windows 10 64bit

There is No magic bullet in computing; only work a rounds.
















Was this reply relevant?
+0
-0

This thread has been marked as locked.