Forum Thread: macromedia shockwave player 8x

You are currently viewing a forum thread in the Secunia Community Forum. Please note that opinions expressed here are not of Secunia but solely reflect those of the user who wrote it.

This thread was submitted in the following forum:
Programs

Relating to this vendor:
Macromedia
And, this specific program:
Macromedia Shockwave Player 8.x

This thread has been marked as resolved.
itsmenellie macromedia shockwave player 8x
Member 19th Apr, 2010 00:00
Ranking: 0
Posts: 10
User Since: 26th Jan, 2009
System Score: N/A
Location: N/A
Secunia has this as a threat 4, but I can't even find it on my computer. What do I do now?

I have W XP & have rescanned Seunia several times, but it won't go away.
I do have Adobe Shockwave 11.5.6.606

Post "RE: macromedia shockwave player 8x" has been selected as an answer.
Maurice Joyce RE: macromedia shockwave player 8x
Handling Contributor 19th Apr, 2010 00:39
Score: 12325
Posts: 9,575
User Since: 4th Jan 2009
System Score: N/A
Location: UK
Adobe purchased Macromedia a long time ago. They are the same thing.

U have got the latest version installed. It looks like U also have another one lurking.

What path does PSI give to version 8?

FINDING A VULNERABILITY FILE PATH
=================================

To locate the exact file that the Secunia PSI has detected, use or switch to the ADVANCED interface, then :

1 Click on the + sign of the programme to "expand' it.
2 Click on Technical Details in the Toolbox to see the installation path of the detected file. (Copy (CTRL+C) & paste (CTRL+V) the Installation Path of the file back to the Forum if U are unsure what to do next.

Revision 1


--
Maurice

Microsoft Surface 4 Intel i7 64Bit
Windows 10 Pro version 1809 Build 17763.404
16 GB RAM
IE & Edge Only
Was this reply relevant?
+3
-0
itsmenellie RE: macromedia shockwave player 8x
Member 19th Apr, 2010 01:45
Score: 0
Posts: 10
User Since: 26th Jan 2009
System Score: N/A
Location: N/A
Technical details


Technical details about this installation of Macromedia Shockwave Player 8.x, you can use this information to determine why the Secunia PSI detected the program and the security state of it.

Version Detected:
8.5.1.102

Installation Path:
C:\WINDOWS\system32\Macromed\Shockwave 8\SwInit.exe

Last Inspection of Program:
12th Apr. 2010, 23:41 CET

Close
Was this reply relevant?
+0
-0
itsmenellie RE: macromedia shockwave player 8x
Member 19th Apr, 2010 02:25
Score: 0
Posts: 10
User Since: 26th Jan 2009
System Score: N/A
Location: N/A
Dear Maurice - thanks so much for response - I did as U advised & sent back reply to you along w/the tech details - then I went back to simple...re-scanned (for the 10th time today as I had 8 insecure) & everything cleared up....dunno how, but?????????? Thanks, Annelle
Was this reply relevant?
+0
-0
This user no longer exists RE: macromedia shockwave player 8x
Secunia Official 19th Apr, 2010 10:21
Hi

By entering the Simple Interface in the PSI, all programs that is not marked as "Easy to patch" will disappear.

I would strongly recommend you try to switch to the Advanced Interface again to solve the issues there.
Maurice Joyce RE: macromedia shockwave player 8x
Handling Contributor 19th Apr, 2010 11:18
Score: 12325
Posts: 9,575
User Since: 4th Jan 2009
System Score: N/A
Location: UK
Annelle,
I support what Morten is saying.
I would strongly advise U go back to the advanced mode & stay in that mode.It has a larger database it & could show more vulnerabilities on your system.

There will always be someone on the Forum willing to help U if U cannot understand all the results or fix a problem.

Version 8 of Shockwave really should be fixed. If U wish to do this:

1. Return to the advanced mode.
2. Rescan.
3. Does version 8 still show?
4. Click this link: http://www.adobe.com/shockwave/download/alternates...

U will see a link to an uninstaller (third entry down)

5. Use that to uninstall. Reboot & carry out a full scan in the ADVANCED mode. U should get a clean bill of health.

If U do not please tell me what vulnerability PSI is still showing.

If it is all clear reinstall the latest version from here:
http://get.adobe.com/shockwave/

--
Maurice

Microsoft Surface 4 Intel i7 64Bit
Windows 10 Pro version 1809 Build 17763.404
16 GB RAM
IE & Edge Only
Was this reply relevant?
+2
-0
itsmenellie RE: macromedia shockwave player 8x
Member 20th Apr, 2010 01:58
Score: 0
Posts: 10
User Since: 26th Jan 2009
System Score: N/A
Location: N/A
Dear Maurice & Morten - WOW! Followed ur instructions completely & it worked!
I now need to get rid of my 4 insecure & 3 (not 4) end of life. Will go back to forum if I can't do it ........An old lady thanks you so much - Annelle
Was this reply relevant?
+0
-0
Maurice Joyce RE: macromedia shockwave player 8x
Handling Contributor 20th Apr, 2010 09:13
Score: 12325
Posts: 9,575
User Since: 4th Jan 2009
System Score: N/A
Location: UK
Annelle,
Can U please accept & lock this thread. This will prevent U & I from getting unnecessary update emails.

If U have more problems U can create a new thread & describe each problem U encounter. Easier to follow doing this way & for others to read if they have a similar problem.

--
Maurice

Microsoft Surface 4 Intel i7 64Bit
Windows 10 Pro version 1809 Build 17763.404
16 GB RAM
IE & Edge Only
Was this reply relevant?
+0
-0

This thread has been marked as locked.