Forum Thread:

You are currently viewing a forum thread in the Secunia Community Forum. Please note that opinions expressed here are not of Secunia but solely reflect those of the user who wrote it.

This thread was submitted in the following forum:
All Threads

This user no longer exists
Member 1st Jan, 1970 01:00
Ranking: 0
Posts: 0
User Since: 1st Jan, 1970
System Score: N/A
Location: N/A
Last edited on 1st Jan, 1970 01:00


ddmarshall RE: Windows Registry on Vista !!
Dedicated Contributor 26th Apr, 2010 13:43
Score: 1250
Posts: 992
User Since: 8th Nov 2008
System Score: N/A
Location: UK
A good reason never to use Registry cleaners unless you know what you're deleting.

--
Was this reply relevant?
+2
-0
Anthony Wells RE: Windows Registry on Vista !!
Expert Contributor 26th Apr, 2010 14:21
Score: 2542
Posts: 3,402
User Since: 19th Dec 2007
System Score: N/A
Location: N/A
Last edited on 26th Apr, 2010 14:22
Absolutely , ddmarshall .

Caveat emptor .

--


It always seems impossible until its done.
Nelson Mandela
Was this reply relevant?
+1
-0
Leendert Kip Windows Registry on Vista !!
Contributor 26th Apr, 2010 15:15
Score: 137
Posts: 611
User Since: 22nd Jan 2009
System Score: N/A
Location: NL
Last edited on 26th Apr, 2010 15:16
Hi, you are absolutely right! Recently I experiencec problems with several
Windows Vista updates which didn't work at all and giving errorcodes.
I asked Microsoft in the Netherlands for help and they found problems in my register, which were caused by a registry cleaner. Now I have to reinstall
my system te repair the register. Microsoft serviece engineers who helped
me state: do NOT use register cleaners if you are absolutely sure that you
know what you are doing! So I never do this again!!

--
PC: PWA Computers
Intel Core I3 2100 3.1Ghz
Kingston DDR3 ValueRam 4GB 1333
Kingston SSD SV300S 240GB
Windows 7 Home Premium 64bits SP1
Secunia PSI 3.0.0.11005
Internet Explorer 11
Mozilla Firefox 59.0.2NL
Google Chrome 66.0.3359.117

Laptop: MSI GT780DX
Intel Core I5-2450
DDR3 RAM 6GB
Windows 7 Home Premium 64bits SP1
Secunia PSI 3.0.0.11005
Internet Explorer 11
Mozilla Firefox 59.0.2NL
Was this reply relevant?
+1
-0
taffy078 RE: Windows Registry on Vista !!
Contributor 26th Apr, 2010 21:10
Score: 408
Posts: 1,469
User Since: 26th Feb 2009
System Score: N/A
Location: UK
Last edited on 26th Apr, 2010 21:12
on 26th Apr, 2010 15:15, Leendert Kip wrote:
Microsoft serviece engineers who helped
me state: do NOT use register cleaners if you are absolutely sure that you
know what you are doing! So I never do this again!!

Hi Leendert. I know what you meant but in case others don't, I think you meant "Don't use registry cleaners unless you know what you are doing.
PS your english is far better than my dutch so I hope you don't mind me mentioning this!
This message about registry cleaners really is so important. It was the first major error that I made on my PC! ;0)

--
taffy078, West Yorkshire, UK

HP Envy Win10 PC and Compaq Presario screwed up by forced upgrade to Win10 from WIn7
Was this reply relevant?
+1
-0
Leendert Kip Windows Registry on Vista !!
Contributor 26th Apr, 2010 22:36
Score: 137
Posts: 611
User Since: 22nd Jan 2009
System Score: N/A
Location: NL
Hi Taffy, Yes, you are absolutely right. Was a bit sloppy on my side!

--
PC: PWA Computers
Intel Core I3 2100 3.1Ghz
Kingston DDR3 ValueRam 4GB 1333
Kingston SSD SV300S 240GB
Windows 7 Home Premium 64bits SP1
Secunia PSI 3.0.0.11005
Internet Explorer 11
Mozilla Firefox 59.0.2NL
Google Chrome 66.0.3359.117

Laptop: MSI GT780DX
Intel Core I5-2450
DDR3 RAM 6GB
Windows 7 Home Premium 64bits SP1
Secunia PSI 3.0.0.11005
Internet Explorer 11
Mozilla Firefox 59.0.2NL
Was this reply relevant?
+0
-0
puget1 RE: Windows Registry on Vista !!
Member 26th Apr, 2010 22:56
Score:
Posts: 612
User Since: 21st Dec 2007
System Score: N/A
Location: US
For what it is worth:http://download.cnet.com/Advanced-Vista-Optimizer-... It might be interesting

--
Windows 10 64bit

There is No magic bullet in computing; only work a rounds.
















Was this reply relevant?
+1
-1
mogs RE: Windows Registry on Vista !!
Member 26th Apr, 2010 22:56
Score:
Posts: 6,279
User Since: 22nd Apr 2009
System Score: N/A
Location: UK
taffy/Leendert Kip.....could you both expand a little bit 'bout which registry cleaner you had a bad experience with ? CCleaner's facility; I don't think I've seen a bad word about. I've been using another as well, for about the last six months, without a hitch: in fairness, the settings do sometimes show warnings. It seems to me that if I didn't do any registry cleaning at all, I'd possibly have a lot more problems ?

--
Was this reply relevant?
+1
-0
puget1 RE: Windows Registry on Vista !!
Member 27th Apr, 2010 02:19
Score:
Posts: 612
User Since: 21st Dec 2007
System Score: N/A
Location: US
Last edited on 27th Apr, 2010 02:38


--
Windows 10 64bit

There is No magic bullet in computing; only work a rounds.
















Was this reply relevant?
+1
-0
taffy078 RE: Windows Registry on Vista !!
Contributor 27th Apr, 2010 06:25
Score: 408
Posts: 1,469
User Since: 26th Feb 2009
System Score: N/A
Location: UK
Hi Mogs. I have no problems - as far as I know - with my registry cleaner, Lavasoft's Registry Tuner. I wouldn't dare go anywhere nearthe registry unless an expert is guiding me on every step.
Looks like others have come up with some good ideas - we each tend to stick with what we know, don't we?

But it's sometimes good to check out another product as I did with your suggestion of RevoUninstaller.

--
taffy078, West Yorkshire, UK

HP Envy Win10 PC and Compaq Presario screwed up by forced upgrade to Win10 from WIn7
Was this reply relevant?
+1
-0
Leendert Kip Windows Registry on Vista !!
Contributor 27th Apr, 2010 07:35
Score: 137
Posts: 611
User Since: 22nd Jan 2009
System Score: N/A
Location: NL
Hi Mogs, Microsoft support only said that it's not wise to use register cleaners
unless you know what you do. They didn't specify any brands on register
cleaners but cleaners in general.

--
PC: PWA Computers
Intel Core I3 2100 3.1Ghz
Kingston DDR3 ValueRam 4GB 1333
Kingston SSD SV300S 240GB
Windows 7 Home Premium 64bits SP1
Secunia PSI 3.0.0.11005
Internet Explorer 11
Mozilla Firefox 59.0.2NL
Google Chrome 66.0.3359.117

Laptop: MSI GT780DX
Intel Core I5-2450
DDR3 RAM 6GB
Windows 7 Home Premium 64bits SP1
Secunia PSI 3.0.0.11005
Internet Explorer 11
Mozilla Firefox 59.0.2NL
Was this reply relevant?
+0
-0
mogs RE: Windows Registry on Vista !!
Member 27th Apr, 2010 08:06
Score:
Posts: 6,279
User Since: 22nd Apr 2009
System Score: N/A
Location: UK
Thanks both for the replies. I didn't mean to to be intentionally ignorant of your presence either puget !
As far as I know, CCleaner is very much on the side of safety when it comes to Registry scanning and correction...reiteration....havn't seen a bad word; it must do a lot of good work. For what it's worth, I've used Auslogics registry cleaner for quite a while, progressed from the safest areas for scanning thro' to having all the sections ticked. There's also a results page which can be opened up in the browser. I think you're right taffy....we each find our own sense of satisfaction.


--
Was this reply relevant?
+1
-0
puget1 RE: Windows Registry on Vista !!
Member 27th Apr, 2010 19:24
Score:
Posts: 612
User Since: 21st Dec 2007
System Score: N/A
Location: US
Did anyone check out the links I found using Microsoft's own products?

--
Windows 10 64bit

There is No magic bullet in computing; only work a rounds.
















Was this reply relevant?
+1
-0
Leendert Kip Windows Registry on Vista !!
Contributor 27th Apr, 2010 19:57
Score: 137
Posts: 611
User Since: 22nd Jan 2009
System Score: N/A
Location: NL
Hi Puget, I did and tried to understand. However, I am not experienced enough
to understand how it works and what I can do with it. Because of the problems
I already have with a damaged register, I don't try anything again!

--
PC: PWA Computers
Intel Core I3 2100 3.1Ghz
Kingston DDR3 ValueRam 4GB 1333
Kingston SSD SV300S 240GB
Windows 7 Home Premium 64bits SP1
Secunia PSI 3.0.0.11005
Internet Explorer 11
Mozilla Firefox 59.0.2NL
Google Chrome 66.0.3359.117

Laptop: MSI GT780DX
Intel Core I5-2450
DDR3 RAM 6GB
Windows 7 Home Premium 64bits SP1
Secunia PSI 3.0.0.11005
Internet Explorer 11
Mozilla Firefox 59.0.2NL
Was this reply relevant?
+0
-0
puget1 RE: Windows Registry on Vista !!
Member 27th Apr, 2010 20:32
Score:
Posts: 612
User Since: 21st Dec 2007
System Score: N/A
Location: US
Last edited on 27th Apr, 2010 20:35
@Leendert Kip

Do you have a OEM disk? I am advised that you can do a wipe and reinstall from it. Untested (have no need). You have comparably new system both Windows 7 and 64 bit. Are you sure it is the registry? I have been advised that a lot of software is not up to 64 bit compatibility. Unaware what others take on your situation would be. Maybe, you can get some assistance from Google as how to do a wipe and re-install.

--
Windows 10 64bit

There is No magic bullet in computing; only work a rounds.
















Was this reply relevant?
+1
-1
Leendert Kip Windows Registry on Vista !!
Contributor 27th Apr, 2010 20:37
Score: 137
Posts: 611
User Since: 22nd Jan 2009
System Score: N/A
Location: NL
I use a set dvd's with Vista Home Premium 32bit which I obtained from HP.
That works very good and I have used it before.

--
PC: PWA Computers
Intel Core I3 2100 3.1Ghz
Kingston DDR3 ValueRam 4GB 1333
Kingston SSD SV300S 240GB
Windows 7 Home Premium 64bits SP1
Secunia PSI 3.0.0.11005
Internet Explorer 11
Mozilla Firefox 59.0.2NL
Google Chrome 66.0.3359.117

Laptop: MSI GT780DX
Intel Core I5-2450
DDR3 RAM 6GB
Windows 7 Home Premium 64bits SP1
Secunia PSI 3.0.0.11005
Internet Explorer 11
Mozilla Firefox 59.0.2NL
Was this reply relevant?
+0
-0
puget1 RE: Windows Registry on Vista !!
Member 28th Apr, 2010 03:03
Score:
Posts: 612
User Since: 21st Dec 2007
System Score: N/A
Location: US
Last edited on 28th Apr, 2010 03:06
@Leendert Kip

May ,I ask another question? When you did use the registry cleaner did you try several or did you remain with just the one company? My new theory (unproven) is the more you bounce around the more problems you will have. Reason being that when the p.c. talk a log is probably kept at the site you are using and that they in turn are logging events.. Therefore, they have a general long term goal and are trying to remain compatible with that goal for overall p.c.health. Now I know I will get a ration for this, but that's what makes pc.'s fun is the experimental aspect It is great when you have them working and a real bummer when they are down. Luck on the adventure.

--
Windows 10 64bit

There is No magic bullet in computing; only work a rounds.
















Was this reply relevant?
+1
-1
Leendert Kip Windows Registry on Vista !!
Contributor 28th Apr, 2010 09:00
Score: 137
Posts: 611
User Since: 22nd Jan 2009
System Score: N/A
Location: NL
Hi Puget, I only used one registry cleaner: Wise RC. Now Microsoft Technical Support found out that I have a big problem with my registry, I will never use a registry cleaner again. They found out because they use remote support and looked into my system.

--
PC: PWA Computers
Intel Core I3 2100 3.1Ghz
Kingston DDR3 ValueRam 4GB 1333
Kingston SSD SV300S 240GB
Windows 7 Home Premium 64bits SP1
Secunia PSI 3.0.0.11005
Internet Explorer 11
Mozilla Firefox 59.0.2NL
Google Chrome 66.0.3359.117

Laptop: MSI GT780DX
Intel Core I5-2450
DDR3 RAM 6GB
Windows 7 Home Premium 64bits SP1
Secunia PSI 3.0.0.11005
Internet Explorer 11
Mozilla Firefox 59.0.2NL
Was this reply relevant?
+0
-0
puget1 RE: Windows Registry on Vista !!
Member 28th Apr, 2010 13:22
Score:
Posts: 612
User Since: 21st Dec 2007
System Score: N/A
Location: US
Last edited on 28th Apr, 2010 13:33
@Leendert Kip

Sorry to hear. Do you have any geek friends that can help with a wipe and re-install and did Microsoft suggest such a thing? If you do go for it(wipe & reinstall) just before doing and just for the kick of it Try Auslogics or CCCleaner to see if it will correct the problem. Mogs and I have used them with no apparent problem. We're all with you

http://www.auslogics.com/en/software/registry-clea... (billed as one of the safest)

http://download.cnet.com/1770-20_4-0.html?query=cc...

--
Windows 10 64bit

There is No magic bullet in computing; only work a rounds.
















Was this reply relevant?
+1
-0
Leendert Kip Windows Registry on Vista.
Contributor 28th Apr, 2010 13:41
Score: 137
Posts: 611
User Since: 22nd Jan 2009
System Score: N/A
Location: NL
Last edited on 28th Apr, 2010 13:43
I have nobody at hand to help me and I am absolutely NOT intended to try
any registry cleaner again. The damage has been done and I handle this according the instructions which Microsoft gave me. What do you mean with
wipe and re-install? Microsoft told me that the best method is to use the
dvd's which HP suppplied with my computer.

--
PC: PWA Computers
Intel Core I3 2100 3.1Ghz
Kingston DDR3 ValueRam 4GB 1333
Kingston SSD SV300S 240GB
Windows 7 Home Premium 64bits SP1
Secunia PSI 3.0.0.11005
Internet Explorer 11
Mozilla Firefox 59.0.2NL
Google Chrome 66.0.3359.117

Laptop: MSI GT780DX
Intel Core I5-2450
DDR3 RAM 6GB
Windows 7 Home Premium 64bits SP1
Secunia PSI 3.0.0.11005
Internet Explorer 11
Mozilla Firefox 59.0.2NL
Was this reply relevant?
+0
-0
puget1 RE: Windows Registry on Vista !!
Member 28th Apr, 2010 16:52
Score:
Posts: 612
User Since: 21st Dec 2007
System Score: N/A
Location: US
Last edited on 28th Apr, 2010 17:47
@Leendert Kip

Right, the damage is already done I accept that. To reiterate "before you wipe & reinstall(restore) just try the reg cleaners and see and open a new thread in open discussion advising the outcome. It doesn't hurt. A wipe and re-install or restore means you are taking everything off your C-drive that was ever on it. You then re-install which brings c-drive back to the day you bought it. You will have to reconfigure your machine again and stand by while Microsoft begins downloading "all" updates you had up to the day of the wipe and re-install/restore. That is what you are doing with the disk that came with the machine.. Believe me if you don't know what you are doing, get someone who does. They may tell you, you need a new hard drive. I would question it and move on to another technician.
Just out of curiosity, you have never had a magnet source near your p.c. have you? If so then you will need a new hard drive and possibly a new machine. They can make lovely planters or paper weights.

PLEASE use a flash drive (thumb) to retain any documents or other items you want prior to procedure. They will be lost during the procedure.

--
Windows 10 64bit

There is No magic bullet in computing; only work a rounds.
















Was this reply relevant?
+1
-1
Leendert Kip Windows Registry on Vista !!
Contributor 29th Apr, 2010 07:49
Score: 137
Posts: 611
User Since: 22nd Jan 2009
System Score: N/A
Location: NL
Hi Puget, Don't worry, I know exactly how a restore from the dvd's worked and performed those operattions in the past. There is absolutely no problem with
my harddrive and I have no other problems with my machine. And, of course,
I have a complete backup of all my files and use Data Deposit Box online backup for may years and that's 100% reliable. Thanks anyway for your input.

--
PC: PWA Computers
Intel Core I3 2100 3.1Ghz
Kingston DDR3 ValueRam 4GB 1333
Kingston SSD SV300S 240GB
Windows 7 Home Premium 64bits SP1
Secunia PSI 3.0.0.11005
Internet Explorer 11
Mozilla Firefox 59.0.2NL
Google Chrome 66.0.3359.117

Laptop: MSI GT780DX
Intel Core I5-2450
DDR3 RAM 6GB
Windows 7 Home Premium 64bits SP1
Secunia PSI 3.0.0.11005
Internet Explorer 11
Mozilla Firefox 59.0.2NL
Was this reply relevant?
+0
-0
puget1 RE: Windows Registry on Vista !!
Member 29th Apr, 2010 18:27
Score:
Posts: 612
User Since: 21st Dec 2007
System Score: N/A
Location: US
@Leendert Kip

Good luck, hope I didn't offend. Sounds like you are an advanced user. Puget 1

--
Windows 10 64bit

There is No magic bullet in computing; only work a rounds.
















Was this reply relevant?
+2
-0
Leendert Kip Windows Registry on Vista !!
Contributor 29th Apr, 2010 18:37
Score: 137
Posts: 611
User Since: 22nd Jan 2009
System Score: N/A
Location: NL
Hi Puget, You didn't offend me at all of course and I don't consider myself as
an advanced user. I am reasonably experienced. A restore operation isn't
difficult at all and it runs almost automatically from my set of dvd's. Most of the work after that is installing all Vista updates and service packs and all the software I use with their specific settings. Recover my data from the remote backup is a non-event.

--
PC: PWA Computers
Intel Core I3 2100 3.1Ghz
Kingston DDR3 ValueRam 4GB 1333
Kingston SSD SV300S 240GB
Windows 7 Home Premium 64bits SP1
Secunia PSI 3.0.0.11005
Internet Explorer 11
Mozilla Firefox 59.0.2NL
Google Chrome 66.0.3359.117

Laptop: MSI GT780DX
Intel Core I5-2450
DDR3 RAM 6GB
Windows 7 Home Premium 64bits SP1
Secunia PSI 3.0.0.11005
Internet Explorer 11
Mozilla Firefox 59.0.2NL
Was this reply relevant?
+1
-0
taffy078 RE: Windows Registry on Vista !!
Contributor 30th Apr, 2010 18:37
Score: 408
Posts: 1,469
User Since: 26th Feb 2009
System Score: N/A
Location: UK
Hi Leendert Kip & Puget1.

As a novice (but who's keen to learn) may I thank both of you for your interesting conversation.

I've found it very helpful, along with Anthony's "caveat emptor".

I also find it amusing that this thread was started by someone who is now believed to be an experienced "phisher" (see other threads on the 'cleaner' topic!). Not what he had in mind, I imagine - this is useful and helpful for other reasons. C'est la vie! (C'est la guerre?)

--
taffy078, West Yorkshire, UK

HP Envy Win10 PC and Compaq Presario screwed up by forced upgrade to Win10 from WIn7
Was this reply relevant?
+1
-0
Leendert Kip Windows Registry on Vista !!
Contributor 30th Apr, 2010 18:54
Score: 137
Posts: 611
User Since: 22nd Jan 2009
System Score: N/A
Location: NL
Hi Taffy, can you explain why you consider jamdanie04 a phisher? Don't under-
stand why you came to that conclusion.

--
PC: PWA Computers
Intel Core I3 2100 3.1Ghz
Kingston DDR3 ValueRam 4GB 1333
Kingston SSD SV300S 240GB
Windows 7 Home Premium 64bits SP1
Secunia PSI 3.0.0.11005
Internet Explorer 11
Mozilla Firefox 59.0.2NL
Google Chrome 66.0.3359.117

Laptop: MSI GT780DX
Intel Core I5-2450
DDR3 RAM 6GB
Windows 7 Home Premium 64bits SP1
Secunia PSI 3.0.0.11005
Internet Explorer 11
Mozilla Firefox 59.0.2NL
Was this reply relevant?
+0
-0
taffy078 RE: Windows Registry on Vista !!
Contributor 30th Apr, 2010 21:47
Score: 408
Posts: 1,469
User Since: 26th Feb 2009
System Score: N/A
Location: UK
Hi Leendert - please see the other threads set up by the poster. Especially Anthony's comments in this:
http://secunia.com/community/forum/thread/show/412...

--
taffy078, West Yorkshire, UK

HP Envy Win10 PC and Compaq Presario screwed up by forced upgrade to Win10 from WIn7
Was this reply relevant?
+1
-0
Maurice Joyce RE: Windows Registry on Vista !!
Handling Contributor 30th Apr, 2010 21:59
Score: 12325
Posts: 9,575
User Since: 4th Jan 2009
System Score: N/A
Location: UK
@taffy
I am not sure any Phishing has occured hence Leendert Kip's question.

DEFINITION - Phishing is an e-mail fraud method in which the perpetrator sends out legitimate-looking email in an attempt to gather personal and financial information from recipients. Typically, the messages appear to come from well known and trustworthy Web sites. Web sites that are frequently spoofed by phishers include PayPal, eBay, MSN, Yahoo, BestBuy, and America Online. A phishing expedition, like the fishing expedition it's named for, is a speculative venture: the phisher puts the lure hoping to fool at least a few of the prey that encounter the bait

--
Maurice

Microsoft Surface 4 Intel i7 64Bit
Windows 10 Pro version 1809 Build 17763.404
16 GB RAM
IE & Edge Only
Was this reply relevant?
+1
-0
taffy078 RE: Windows Registry on Vista !!
Contributor 30th Apr, 2010 22:04
Score: 408
Posts: 1,469
User Since: 26th Feb 2009
System Score: N/A
Location: UK
Yet again, I apologise!

I thought that the term 'phishing' included emails/posts etc that appeared to be genuine but were really an attempt to sell a product. Or is that spam?

Whatever, this guy has posted lots of times here and elsewhere, and always seems to have a different PC/OS.

--
taffy078, West Yorkshire, UK

HP Envy Win10 PC and Compaq Presario screwed up by forced upgrade to Win10 from WIn7
Was this reply relevant?
+2
-0
Maurice Joyce RE: Windows Registry on Vista !!
Handling Contributor 30th Apr, 2010 22:26
Score: 12325
Posts: 9,575
User Since: 4th Jan 2009
System Score: N/A
Location: UK
Agreed - complete pain & he/she never replies. Broadmoor springs to mind.

--
Maurice

Microsoft Surface 4 Intel i7 64Bit
Windows 10 Pro version 1809 Build 17763.404
16 GB RAM
IE & Edge Only
Was this reply relevant?
+2
-0
Anthony Wells RE: Windows Registry on Vista !!
Expert Contributor 30th Apr, 2010 23:55
Score: 2542
Posts: 3,402
User Since: 19th Dec 2007
System Score: N/A
Location: N/A
Last edited on 1st May, 2010 00:02
taffy , if it helps , on one of the other related threads , ddmarshall questioned whether it was a case of "SEO" , which does seem likely to me ;-

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Search_engine_optimiz...

Having said that , the linked website is marked for Phishing by WOT ; however , other "Site Advisers" have not found any direct malware connections to the website .

One cannot be too dogmatic , but i would put it into the "spamming" bracket which is annoying but not necessarily illegal in it's own right .

Broadmoor or the Mars route , that is the question .

Take care

Anthony

--


It always seems impossible until its done.
Nelson Mandela
Was this reply relevant?
+2
-0
taffy078 RE: Windows Registry on Vista !!
Contributor 1st May, 2010 09:11
Score: 408
Posts: 1,469
User Since: 26th Feb 2009
System Score: N/A
Location: UK
thanks, Maurice, Anthony & Leendert.

I first heard of SEO fifteen years ago, although it probably wasn't called that then. A company was using it to 'promote' one of my customers' website in search results.

I've learnt some new words today though : "black hat SEO", "spamdexing" and "craplets", whatever they are!

--
taffy078, West Yorkshire, UK

HP Envy Win10 PC and Compaq Presario screwed up by forced upgrade to Win10 from WIn7
Was this reply relevant?
+1
-0
Maurice Joyce RE: Windows Registry on Vista !!
Handling Contributor 1st May, 2010 10:28
Score: 12325
Posts: 9,575
User Since: 4th Jan 2009
System Score: N/A
Location: UK
@Taffy

This is an Open Discussion so I think I am "fairly safe. The history of a Craplet is as follows:

Country Of Origin: Denmark

Definition: A post on the PSI Forum that is awarded -5 (minus5) points or more by a Secunia Official.

See - cyber talk is easy!!


--
Maurice

Microsoft Surface 4 Intel i7 64Bit
Windows 10 Pro version 1809 Build 17763.404
16 GB RAM
IE & Edge Only
Was this reply relevant?
+5
-0
taffy078 RE: Windows Registry on Vista !!
Contributor 1st May, 2010 14:47
Score: 408
Posts: 1,469
User Since: 26th Feb 2009
System Score: N/A
Location: UK
l.o.l.!!!

You'll be in real trouble now, Maurice, especially after what Anthony's just posted in 'Open Door'!

--
taffy078, West Yorkshire, UK

HP Envy Win10 PC and Compaq Presario screwed up by forced upgrade to Win10 from WIn7
Was this reply relevant?
+0
-0
Maurice Joyce RE: Windows Registry on Vista !!
Handling Contributor 1st May, 2010 15:25
Score: 12325
Posts: 9,575
User Since: 4th Jan 2009
System Score: N/A
Location: UK
As the saying goes "if U cannot stand a joke U should not have joined"!

--
Maurice

Microsoft Surface 4 Intel i7 64Bit
Windows 10 Pro version 1809 Build 17763.404
16 GB RAM
IE & Edge Only
Was this reply relevant?
+2
-0
taffy078 RE: Windows Registry on Vista !!
Contributor 1st May, 2010 16:12
Score: 408
Posts: 1,469
User Since: 26th Feb 2009
System Score: N/A
Location: UK
I laughed my socks off (UK expression) when I first read your post, Maurice - and then Anthony's.

I hope Emil & Morten never deduct 100 points from my score. I'd have to live until I was 146 years old to get back to zero. ;0)


--
taffy078, West Yorkshire, UK

HP Envy Win10 PC and Compaq Presario screwed up by forced upgrade to Win10 from WIn7
Was this reply relevant?
+0
-0
Maurice Joyce RE: Windows Registry on Vista !!
Handling Contributor 1st May, 2010 17:50
Score: 12325
Posts: 9,575
User Since: 4th Jan 2009
System Score: N/A
Location: UK
Last edited on 1st May, 2010 19:40
@Taffy
Maybe worth a bonus as I am trying to warn those who write fictional posts (craplets) do get zapped. I consider this very public spirited!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

On a more serious note I am surprised Secunia have not taken down the 3 threads by the author.

There is nothing on this thread worth keeping or the other 2 by the same author.

@Anthony & others have proved the point on what she/he is. The author is a general hassle merchant - advertising with appalling manners by not responding.

--
Maurice

Microsoft Surface 4 Intel i7 64Bit
Windows 10 Pro version 1809 Build 17763.404
16 GB RAM
IE & Edge Only
Was this reply relevant?
+5
-0