Forum Thread: pcre update for webroot

You are currently viewing a forum thread in the Secunia Community Forum. Please note that opinions expressed here are not of Secunia but solely reflect those of the user who wrote it.

This thread was submitted in the following forum:
Programs

Relating to this vendor:
And, this specific program:
PCRE 6.x

This thread has been marked as locked.
jimmyz2003 pcre update for webroot
Member 11th May, 2010 20:40
Ranking: 0
Posts: 1
User Since: 21st Apr, 2009
System Score: N/A
Location: N/A
contacted webroot about updating to pcre6.7. Was advised to not upgrade as third party prigrams are not supported ads chanes to .dll foles would compromise the antispy program. secunia reported this as needed to be patched. any thoughts?

waldo6050 RE: pcre update for webroot
Member 11th May, 2010 23:17
Score: 2
Posts: 3
User Since: 24th Aug 2009
System Score: N/A
Location: N/A
I got the same warning from Secunia.

Did Webroot indicate they were aware of the vulnerability and/or they were going to do anything about it?

Failing that, it seems there are only two things we can do, i.e. stop using Webroot or ignore Secunia's warning and live with the vulnerability. Of course, we could ignore Webroot and update pcre and see what happens (probably not advisable).
Was this reply relevant?
+1
-0
jfred RE: pcre update for webroot
Member 12th May, 2010 02:31
Score: 2
Posts: 1
User Since: 12th May 2010
System Score: N/A
Location: US
Secunia found a prce file in my Webroot security package. I contacted Webroot. They told me the prce file I have is correct and presents no security threat and that the software which is detecting it may need to be updated.
Was this reply relevant?
+2
-0
This user no longer exists RE: pcre update for webroot
Member 12th May, 2010 09:43
Last edited on 12th May, 2010 09:46 Hi,

This vulnerability will no longer be show for Webroot if you rescan.

hope this helps.
Was this reply relevant?
+0
-0
waldo6050 RE: pcre update for webroot
Member 12th May, 2010 23:31
Score: 2
Posts: 3
User Since: 24th Aug 2009
System Score: N/A
Location: N/A
I still have the same pcre vulnerability indication for Webroot after rescanning twice, even after rebooting.
Was this reply relevant?
+1
-0
davidbassplayer RE: pcre update for webroot
Member 13th May, 2010 03:52
Score: 2
Posts: 20
User Since: 13th Feb 2008
System Score: N/A
Location: N/A
I too have PCRE 6.x detected as unsafe. Contrary to what PCI says, Webroot does not provide an update. I suspect I will have to ignore this and live with whatever risk there may be. I wish PCI/Secunia would provide more details so we can assess the danger involved in that course of action.
Was this reply relevant?
+1
-0
This user no longer exists RE: pcre update for webroot
Member 14th May, 2010 08:17
Hi,

Please go to Advanced mode (by clicking "Advanced" in the top right corner), click the Insecure tab, navigate to the PCRE update, and tell me what the field "Installation Path" says. If you paste the information from this field here, I can adjust our rules.
Was this reply relevant?
+0
-0
larryc43230 RE: pcre update for webroot
Member 14th May, 2010 12:52
Score: 1
Posts: 19
User Since: 4th Dec 2008
System Score: N/A
Location: US
I'm running Windows XP SP3. The path for PCRE on my machine is:

C:\Program Files\Webroot\WebrootSecurity\pcre3.dll

--Larry
Was this reply relevant?
+0
-0
This user no longer exists RE: pcre update for webroot
Member 14th May, 2010 13:01
Hi,

If you scan now, it shouldn't show up. Is this the case?
Was this reply relevant?
+0
-0
jesbion RE: pcre update for webroot
Member 14th May, 2010 13:20
Score: -5
Posts: 22
User Since: 14th May 2010
System Score: N/A
Location: US
Maybe you could help me, as well... I have Vista Home Premium and the same path as Larry with his XP. Webroot says they have no update and say secunia is giving a False Positive! Either way, users are caught in the mix...My path is:
C:\Program Files\Webroot\WebrootSecurity\pcre3.dll
I have scanned and re-scanned too many times to count, Can you help E. Peterson?
Was this reply relevant?
+1
-0
larryc43230 RE: pcre update for webroot
Member 14th May, 2010 13:22
Score: 1
Posts: 19
User Since: 4th Dec 2008
System Score: N/A
Location: US
on 14th May, 2010 13:01, wrote:
Hi,

If you scan now, it shouldn't show up. Is this the case?


When I rescanned just that file (without doing a full scan), it still showed up as insecure.

Then I did a full scan, which apparently caused new definitions to be downloaded. After the full scan, all files on my PC were shown as secure.

Thanks for the help!

--Larry
Was this reply relevant?
+1
-0
jesbion RE: pcre update for webroot
Member 14th May, 2010 13:32
Score: -5
Posts: 22
User Since: 14th May 2010
System Score: N/A
Location: US
on 14th May, 2010 13:22, larryc43230 wrote:
When I rescanned just that file (without doing a full scan), it still showed up as insecure.

Then I did a full scan, which apparently caused new definitions to be downloaded. After the full scan, all files on my PC were shown as secure.

Thanks for the help!

--Larry

I did the same with the same results...Thanks E. Peterson, and thanks, Larry, for doing the full scan. It worked!
Was this reply relevant?
+1
-0
davidbassplayer RE: pcre update for webroot
Member 14th May, 2010 16:55
Score: 2
Posts: 20
User Since: 13th Feb 2008
System Score: N/A
Location: N/A
I removed the ignore rule for PCRE and did a full scan. PCRE is no longer tagged as being a security risk. Thanks.
Was this reply relevant?
+1
-0
waldo6050 RE: pcre update for webroot
Member 14th May, 2010 20:10
Score: 2
Posts: 3
User Since: 24th Aug 2009
System Score: N/A
Location: N/A
Last edited on 14th May, 2010 20:11
My pcre vulnerability problem was corrected as well. Thank you.
Was this reply relevant?
+0
-0
sharonlowe3 RE: pcre update for webroot
Member 14th May, 2010 21:11
Score: 0
Posts: 1
User Since: 14th May 2010
System Score: N/A
Location: US
I also had the same false vulnerability report for pcre3.dll as integrated in Webroot's antivirus and spyware programs. After discussing the issue with Webroot, I contacted Secunia and they addressed the problem very quickly. I then performed a full system scan and the erroneous insecurity report had vanished. Thanks, Secunia!
Was this reply relevant?
+0
-0

This thread has been marked as locked.