Forum Thread: Misidentification of Firefox version

You are currently viewing a forum thread in the Secunia Community Forum. Please note that opinions expressed here are not of Secunia but solely reflect those of the user who wrote it.

This thread was submitted in the following forum:
PSI

This thread has been marked as locked.
zarfire Misidentification of Firefox version
Member 12th May, 2010 12:46
Ranking: 0
Posts: 2
User Since: 12th May, 2010
System Score: N/A
Location: N/A
Is their a "fix" to prevent PSI reading my Firefox as a 1.5 version when it is (in fact) latest April 2010 version 1.6?

This user no longer exists RE: Misidentification of Firefox version
Member 12th May, 2010 12:56
Hi,

Are you referring to Firefox 3.6.x? The latest version if this branch is 3.6.3, and this version is usually picked up without pain in the PSI.

Try this.
Click the "Solution" button in the PSI, install what pops up. Then try a full rescan, and see if the version the PSI displays changes.

If this does not work, you may be affected by a recent problem. Reinstalling the PSI could be the answer if this were the case, so it's worth trying.

Hope this helps.
Was this reply relevant?
+0
-0
michaelsalis RE: Misidentification of Firefox version
Member 12th May, 2010 12:59
Score: 57
Posts: 141
User Since: 18th Feb 2009
System Score: N/A
Location: UK
hi zarfire

psi is usually correct and the will probably be an old file somewhere on your computer.

Are you using psi in advanced mode? If not click on the word Advanced and go to the Insecure or End of Life programs click on the + sign and you will see where the offending file is.

If you do not know what to do come back post the link given and we will be able to further assist.

Michael

--
Michael
Toshiba Satelite A660
Intel i7
Windows 7 Ultimate
IE9

Toshiba Equium Laptop
Intel Centrino Duo
Windows Vista Ultimate SP2
IE9
Was this reply relevant?
+0
-0
zarfire RE: Misidentification of Firefox version
Member 12th May, 2010 13:03
Score: 0
Posts: 2
User Since: 12th May 2010
System Score: N/A
Location: N/A
many thanks will try suggestions and see if I can remove the incorrect finding. BTW my bad 3.5 and 3.6.3 actually installed
Was this reply relevant?
+0
-0
Qetesh_2010 RE: Misidentification of Firefox version
Member 12th May, 2010 19:38
Score: 0
Posts: 1
User Since: 12th May 2010
System Score: N/A
Location: US
I was having the same problem. I just told it to ignore the program.
Was this reply relevant?
+0
-0

This thread has been marked as locked.