Forum Thread: oh no not again - adobe CS3's flash.exe reported as insecure but ...

You are currently viewing a forum thread in the Secunia Community Forum. Please note that opinions expressed here are not of Secunia but solely reflect those of the user who wrote it.

This thread was submitted in the following forum:
Programs

Relating to this vendor:
Adobe Systems
And, this specific program:
Adobe Flash CS3 9.x

This thread has been marked as resolved.
motty oh no not again - adobe CS3's flash.exe reported as insecure but it isn't...
Member 15th Jun, 2010 21:53
Ranking: -37
Posts: 23
User Since: 12th Jun, 2009
System Score: N/A
Location: N/A
Hi,

This is the third time that I've had secunia report flash.exe as insecure. In each instance the actual insecurity is with Flash Player.

This time the download solution is a standalone flash player exe:

http://download.macromedia.com/pub/flashplayer/upd...

Which does nothing to update flash.exe. There are no instructions as to what to do with it either...

I tried copying the linked flash player to the flash folder but a rescan still shows flash.exe as insecure.

I've actually long removed the flash players from within flash program folder so I'm confused as to why PSI should be detecting flash as insecure if the issue is with the player!

Any tips on securing flash CS3 would be greatfully received...

motty

ps. previous posts are as follows:

http://secunia.com/community/forum/thread/show/206...

and

http://secunia.com/community/forum/thread/show/206...




--
my music: http://www.fromabrokenheart.com

Post "RE: oh no not again - adobe CS3's flash.exe reported as insecure but it isn't..." has been selected as an answer.
M.Hansen RE: oh no not again - adobe CS3's flash.exe reported as insecure but it isn't...
Secunia Official 15th Jun, 2010 22:14
Score: 193
Posts: 424
User Since: 26th Jan 2009
System Score: N/A
Location: Copenhagen, DK
Hi

This is a rather strange update and not very user friendly

Rename the downloaded file to FlashPlayer.exe

Replace the old FlashPlayer.exe located in the "Players" folder in the Flash CS3 folder.

Rescan with the PSI and you should now be flagged as "patched"
motty RE: oh no not again - adobe CS3's flash.exe reported as insecure but it isn't...
Member 15th Jun, 2010 22:23
Score: -37
Posts: 23
User Since: 12th Jun 2009
System Score: N/A
Location: N/A
Hi,

tried that but still getting:

No changes were detected with this program since the last scan.
The program still appears to be Insecure.


motty

i've got a screen shot showing version numbers if that helps...

--
my music: http://www.fromabrokenheart.com
Was this reply relevant?
+0
-0
motty RE: oh no not again - adobe CS3's flash.exe reported as insecure but it isn't...
Member 15th Jun, 2010 22:50
Score: -37
Posts: 23
User Since: 12th Jun 2009
System Score: N/A
Location: N/A
Hi,

sorry, please ignore that last post.

I was putting the file in the root folder not the players folder.

All is now well :-)

motty

--
my music: http://www.fromabrokenheart.com
Was this reply relevant?
+0
-0

This thread has been marked as locked.