Forum Thread: Here's a wierd display problem...

You are currently viewing a forum thread in the Secunia Community Forum. Please note that opinions expressed here are not of Secunia but solely reflect those of the user who wrote it.

This thread was submitted in the following forum:
PSI 2.0 Beta

This thread has been marked as locked.
bwawsc Here's a wierd display problem...
Member 20th Jun, 2010 06:20
Ranking: 3
Posts: 21
User Since: 17th Jun, 2010
System Score: N/A
Location: US
I notice that with PSI 1.9 running (in Vista) the previews of minimized windows (i.e. when you hover the mouse over a minimized window icon in the icon bar) are obscured by PSI. With PSI minimized to the system tray, the preview popup (of Firefox, for example) is all grey with the red icon in the middle. If the PSI program window is open, then the preview popup for Firefox is mostly (but not completely) covered by a PSI window thumbnail. I can't firure out how to post a screen capture to this foum - but I can provide, if anyone is interested.

--
Bill Walton

Maurice Joyce RE: Here's a wierd display problem...
Handling Contributor 20th Jun, 2010 10:04
Score: 12325
Posts: 9,575
User Since: 4th Jan 2009
System Score: N/A
Location: UK
Last edited on 20th Jun, 2010 10:19
POSTING A SCREEN SHOT TO THE FORUM
++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++
To post a screen shot to the Forum U need to:

1. Capture the image by using a programme such as:
a. Microsoft Paint - details here:How To Take A Screenshot:
http://www.wikihow.com/Take-a-Screenshot-in-Micros...
b. Microsoft One Note
c. Microsoft Snippet (Windows 7 & Vista)
d. Any third party equivalent programme.


2. Save the image to an online repository such as Microsoft Skydrive or Office Online or here: http://tinypic.com/

3. Post the hyperlink to the stored online image to the Forum.

Revision 3


--
Maurice

Microsoft Surface 4 Intel i7 64Bit
Windows 10 Pro version 1809 Build 17763.404
16 GB RAM
IE & Edge Only
Was this reply relevant?
+3
-0
bwawsc RE: Here's a wierd display problem...
Member 21st Jun, 2010 15:57
Score: 3
Posts: 21
User Since: 17th Jun 2010
System Score: N/A
Location: US
Here's an example screen capture where PSI is minimized:

http://www.rawbits.com/gif/Secunia_Obscures_Window...

Here's what it looks like if PSI is displaying its window:

http://www.rawbits.com/gif/Secunia_Obscures_Window...

--
Bill Walton
Was this reply relevant?
+1
-0
Maurice Joyce RE: Here's a wierd display problem...
Handling Contributor 21st Jun, 2010 17:02
Score: 12325
Posts: 9,575
User Since: 4th Jan 2009
System Score: N/A
Location: UK
Last edited on 21st Jun, 2010 17:04
Bill,

I do not get that behaviour. Perhaps Emil will look in & give an opinion.

--
Maurice

Microsoft Surface 4 Intel i7 64Bit
Windows 10 Pro version 1809 Build 17763.404
16 GB RAM
IE & Edge Only
Was this reply relevant?
+0
-0
This user no longer exists RE: Here's a wierd display problem...
Secunia Official 22nd Jun, 2010 09:06
Hi

Did it only happen with PSI 1.9.0.0 or did it also happen with 1.5.0.2?
bwawsc RE: Here's a wierd display problem...
Member 22nd Jun, 2010 15:12
Score: 3
Posts: 21
User Since: 17th Jun 2010
System Score: N/A
Location: US
I don't remember seein g it with 1.5.0.2 at all. I've now determined that it's only the Firefox icon that's affected - other programs seem not to be obscured.

--
Bill Walton
Was this reply relevant?
+0
-0
This user no longer exists RE: Here's a wierd display problem...
Secunia Official 22nd Jun, 2010 15:25
Interesting.

I'll do some testing in attempt to reproduce the problem.
Will post my findings, once I've come to a conclusion.

If you discover something new, please share :-)
This user no longer exists RE: Here's a wierd display problem...
Secunia Official 22nd Jun, 2010 20:04
Hi again

I've been unable to reproduce the issue you are describing.

Tested on Windows Vista and Windows 7.
bwawsc RE: Here's a wierd display problem...
Member 23rd Jun, 2010 07:40
Score: 3
Posts: 21
User Since: 17th Jun 2010
System Score: N/A
Location: US
Unfortunately, what I discovered is that the problem went away, inexplicably. After I had started and stopped PSI a couple of times, and closed most of the tabs in Firefox, suddenly it's no longer doing it(and I can't get it to come back...). Good in a way, but it doesn't explain what was going on.

--
Bill Walton
Was this reply relevant?
+0
-0
This user no longer exists RE: Here's a wierd display problem...
Secunia Official 23rd Jun, 2010 09:49
Seems like a "Ghost-in-the-machine" case.

I'll close this thread since the issue has solved itself.

Should you experience this again, feel free to open a new thread.

This thread has been marked as locked.