Forum Thread: TeamViewer

You are currently viewing a forum thread in the Secunia Community Forum. Please note that opinions expressed here are not of Secunia but solely reflect those of the user who wrote it.

This thread was submitted in the following forum:
PSI

This thread has been marked as locked.
Erich Witzel TeamViewer
Member 9th Jul, 2010 17:52
Ranking: 2
Posts: 7
User Since: 26th Mar, 2010
System Score: N/A
Location: DE
Why PSI always detected the old TeamViewer-Version, although the new one ist installed?

--
Regards Erich Witzel

VAIO VGN-AW31XY/Q
Intel Core Duo CPU 3,06 GHz, 8GB RAM
WIN7 SP1 Ultimate 64-Bit / IE9

Leendert Kip TeamViewer
Contributor 9th Jul, 2010 17:58
Score: 137
Posts: 611
User Since: 22nd Jan 2009
System Score: N/A
Location: NL
I don't understand this as I use the current version 5.0.8625.0 which is shown
in patched programs as 5.0.8625. Is it possible that there are files from the
previous version in your system?

--
PC: PWA Computers
Intel Core I3 2100 3.1Ghz
Kingston DDR3 ValueRam 4GB 1333
Kingston SSD SV300S 240GB
Windows 7 Home Premium 64bits SP1
Secunia PSI 3.0.0.11005
Internet Explorer 11
Mozilla Firefox 59.0.2NL
Google Chrome 66.0.3359.117

Laptop: MSI GT780DX
Intel Core I5-2450
DDR3 RAM 6GB
Windows 7 Home Premium 64bits SP1
Secunia PSI 3.0.0.11005
Internet Explorer 11
Mozilla Firefox 59.0.2NL
Was this reply relevant?
+1
-0
gjjean RE: TeamViewer
Contributor 9th Jul, 2010 20:41
Score: 192
Posts: 197
User Since: 9th Apr 2010
System Score: N/A
Location: LB
@ Erich Witzel

You have to search for Leendert Kip advice by expanding the + sign in advanced mode to see where the offending file is residing.

BTW the newest version of team viewer is ( 5.0.8703 ).

Good luck.


--
HP pavilion DV6
Win 7 64bit - SP1
IE10 + MSSE4.3.215
Was this reply relevant?
+3
-0
Leendert Kip TeamViewer
Contributor 9th Jul, 2010 22:21
Score: 137
Posts: 611
User Since: 22nd Jan 2009
System Score: N/A
Location: NL
Last edited on 9th Jul, 2010 22:27
Hi John, I forgot to tell him how to search for older versions. And you are right! This version became available after I checked at about 18.00hrs Netherlands time. Just checked again and downloaded/installed the latest.

--
PC: PWA Computers
Intel Core I3 2100 3.1Ghz
Kingston DDR3 ValueRam 4GB 1333
Kingston SSD SV300S 240GB
Windows 7 Home Premium 64bits SP1
Secunia PSI 3.0.0.11005
Internet Explorer 11
Mozilla Firefox 59.0.2NL
Google Chrome 66.0.3359.117

Laptop: MSI GT780DX
Intel Core I5-2450
DDR3 RAM 6GB
Windows 7 Home Premium 64bits SP1
Secunia PSI 3.0.0.11005
Internet Explorer 11
Mozilla Firefox 59.0.2NL
Was this reply relevant?
+0
-0
Erich Witzel RE: TeamViewer
Member 12th Jul, 2010 04:36
Score: 2
Posts: 7
User Since: 26th Mar 2010
System Score: N/A
Location: DE
Last edited on 12th Jul, 2010 07:52
Thank you for your answers. I fixed the problem by deinstalling PSI!

--
Regards Erich Witzel

VAIO VGN-AW31XY/Q
Intel Core Duo CPU 3,06 GHz, 8GB RAM
WIN7 SP1 Ultimate 64-Bit / IE9
Was this reply relevant?
+0
-0
This user no longer exists RE: TeamViewer
Member 12th Jul, 2010 08:44
on 12th Jul, 2010 04:36, Erich Witzel wrote:
Thank you for your answers. I fixed the problem by deinstalling PSI!


Hi,

Removing the PSI will not solve your problem. The problem is (most likely) caused by an old version of the software still present on your system. To see if this is the case, set your PSI to advanced mode (By clicking Advanced in the top right corner), then see if there is an entry from this software in both the Insecure and Patched tabs. If this is the case, you can click "+" to expand the entry found in the insecure tab - the "Installation path" will point to the files causing you problems.

hope this helps.
Was this reply relevant?
+0
-0
Erich Witzel RE: TeamViewer
Member 12th Jul, 2010 09:19
Score: 2
Posts: 7
User Since: 26th Mar 2010
System Score: N/A
Location: DE
Hi, sorry for my impatience. Your answers helps me, how to work and the problem is really solved, look at my score! Thank you for second chance!

--
Regards Erich Witzel

VAIO VGN-AW31XY/Q
Intel Core Duo CPU 3,06 GHz, 8GB RAM
WIN7 SP1 Ultimate 64-Bit / IE9
Was this reply relevant?
+2
-0
Maurice Joyce RE: TeamViewer
Handling Contributor 12th Jul, 2010 10:01
Score: 12325
Posts: 9,575
User Since: 4th Jan 2009
System Score: N/A
Location: UK
Erich,
I note U have been a member for some time. Maybe this may still help U to set up PSI & get the maximum benefits from all it has to offer:

SETTING UP PSI IN THE ADVANCED MODE
+++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++
Are U using the latest version of PSI that has the added feature of automatic updates for some programmes? If not,and U would like to try it the download link is here:
http://secunia.com/PSISetupAUTP.exe

Whatever version U currently use try this:

1. Open PSI by clicking the System tray icon or right click the icon & select Reload Interface.

2.Select the OVERVIEW tab.

3. In the top right corner U will see INTERFACE MODE - SIMPLE/ADVANCED. To be in the advanced mode the word SIMPLE should be blue and advanced black.

4. If advanced is blue click it. A message about advanced users may appear - ignore it - using the advanced mode is easy.

SETTING UP PSI FOR MAXIMUM ASSISTANCE
+++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++

1. Click on the SETTINGS tab.

2. The top box should be empty & the two remaining boxes ticked.

3. Right at the bottom is a facility to create Global Ignore Rules. By default PSI scans & publishes the results on all the hard drives of a PC. OEM partition (reinstallation) drives (normally drive D),second internal or external drives SOLELY used to backup your work & C:\Windows\i386 which can be ignored as they have no exposure. To save confusion in the future (by way of "false positives") U may consider it a good idea to create some Global rules now.

4. A separate Ignore Rule is required for each drive which can be set up as follows:

a.Click on CREATE IGNORE RULE

b.In the RULE NAME BOX insert something like MY BACKUP DRIVE (MY PARTITION DRIVE)

c.In the RULE BOX type D:\(or the drive letter U wish to ignore) - For folder i386 use C:\Windows\i386.

d.Click SAVE IGNORE RULE>CLOSE

All drives will continue to be scanned by default but the result from the ignored list will not be published.

This thread has an article by @Anthony Wells that may also be of help in understanding the advanced mode:

http://secunia.com/community/forum/thread/show/375...

It does not contain details of the auto update feature but that is very simple to use. There is a list of programmes under AUTO UPDATES - just tick (check mark) any U want PSI to auto update for U.

If a new Forum Member U might find these interesting reading as well:

http://secunia.com/vulnerability_scanning/personal...

http://secunia.com/vulnerability_scanning/personal...

Version 6 23:45 11/07/2010




--
Maurice

Microsoft Surface 4 Intel i7 64Bit
Windows 10 Pro version 1809 Build 17763.404
16 GB RAM
IE & Edge Only
Was this reply relevant?
+3
-0

This thread has been marked as locked.