Forum Thread: Upgraded AGAIN - 10,1,82,76 - Secunia Says Error

You are currently viewing a forum thread in the Secunia Community Forum. Please note that opinions expressed here are not of Secunia but solely reflect those of the user who wrote it.

This thread was submitted in the following forum:
Programs

Relating to this vendor:
Adobe Systems
And, this specific program:
Adobe Flash Player 10.x

This thread has been marked as resolved.
RGoeken Upgraded AGAIN - 10,1,82,76 - Secunia Says Error
Member 13th Aug, 2010 14:09
Ranking: 0
Posts: 1
User Since: 4th Jul, 2009
System Score: N/A
Location: N/A
Just updated to the latest version of Adobe Flash - 10,1,82,76. Secunia is now saying that Flash is not installed or the version is older than 8.X. Adobe test page says the flash is working fine.

Post "RE: Upgraded AGAIN - 10,1,82,76 - Secunia Says Error " has been selected as an answer.
This user no longer exists RE: Upgraded AGAIN - 10,1,82,76 - Secunia Says Error
Member 13th Aug, 2010 14:34
Hi,

Try right-clicking the PSI icon in the bottom right and select "Reload interface". Once it finishes, try running a full rescan with the PSI.

Are there still entries for Flash? If so, please check if there is one for the Patched tab, and one or more in the insecure tab. If so, you have an outdated version still installed, even though the newest version successfully installed. Posting the "Path" to this installation here will help us help you. You can find this path by expand with the "+" button, and reading the "Installation path" field.

hope this helps.
Was this reply relevant?
+0
-0
Maurice Joyce RE: Upgraded AGAIN - 10,1,82,76 - Secunia Says Error
Handling Contributor 13th Aug, 2010 14:36
Score: 12325
Posts: 9,575
User Since: 4th Jan 2009
System Score: N/A
Location: UK
Last edited on 13th Aug, 2010 14:38
If it standalone Flash on the C drive this will remove old versions & install new.

UPDATING STANDALONE ADOBE FLASH
===============================
Works with Windows XP,Vista & Windows 7 - 32 & 64 Bit systems.

If U have PSI version 1.9.0.2 installed have U tried the auto update feature?
The download link and details are here:
http://secunia.com/community/forum/thread/show/444...

OR

To successfully install Adobe Flash go here:
http://www.filehippo.com/download_flashplayer_ie/

& then here if U have any Gecko based (Firefox etc) browsers.

http://www.filehippo.com/download_flashplayer_fire...

The latest version is:10.1.82.76

1. Download & SAVE it to desktop.
2. The installer will appear on the desk top. Before agreeing to install check these programmes are closed:
a. All Browsers.
b. PSI.
c. Windows Messenger.
d. Incredimail.
e. Adobe Free Reader.

3. The new install will then remove all old files during the update process.
4. Complete a PSI rescan & all should be in order.
5. Delete the Flash installer from the desktop.

POSSIBLE PROBLEMS.
++++++++++++++++++

If U failed to complete 2. above U may well find PSI still shows a vulnerability on the rescan.

SOLUTION

1. Double check all items listed in 2. above are closed.
2. Navigate to:
32 Bit Systems - C:\Windows\system32\Macromedia\Flash
64 Bit Systems - C:\Windows\sysWOW64\Macromedia\Flash

In these locations U may well find these entries:
FLASH10D or E or H.OCX - Right click & delete it/them.
FLASH10i.OCX - The latest version which should be retained.


SOLUTION 2

1. Check the path to the vulnerability.

If PSI has found elements of Flash in the C:\i386 folder or on any drive other than C that is an OEM reinstallation partition (normally D drive) or a drive U use solely to backup your work U can safely create an ignore rule. It may also be in the Recycle Bin.

OPTIONAL EXTRA'S
++++++++++++++++

Security. (Fairly important if U care to check what Adobe attempt to store on a PC)
Adobe also have a very bad habit of changing your Flash settings each time they plug vulnerabilities. To change the security settings to your liking & regain control of your PC click here:

http://www.macromedia.com/support/documentation/en...

Click each tab U see & change the settings to your security requirements.

Bloat ware.(Very important if U dislike totally useless programmes installed on your PC)
If you used the Adobe site, rather than FileHippo to update you will also find they try or have installed an unnecessary Download Manager.

It is bloat ware by a third party Company called NOS. If found I would uninstall it via Add/Remove.

If this post has solved your problem could you please select the ACCEPT option. This will lock the thread and stop you & I from receiving unnecessary update emails.

Update 14 08:12 13/08/2010

Edit: Emil - sorry - stole your thunder.




--
Maurice

Microsoft Surface 4 Intel i7 64Bit
Windows 10 Pro version 1809 Build 17763.404
16 GB RAM
IE & Edge Only
Was this reply relevant?
+2
-0
MikeVostro420 RE: Upgraded AGAIN - 10,1,82,76 - Secunia Says Error
Member 13th Aug, 2010 16:21
Score: 3
Posts: 1
User Since: 28th Apr 2010
System Score: N/A
Location: N/A
Last edited on 13th Aug, 2010 16:22
I had same problem. Finally, I opened the folder in which the program resides and discovered a file with an "h" toward the end of the name...they should all be "i". I deleted the file with the "h" in it, then I downloaded the uninstall file and the install file.

Exit Secunia PSI. Close all browsers.

Run the uninstall file.

Run the install file.

Restart Secunia PSI and run a full system scan...should come up clean.

Worked for me; best of luck. :)
Was this reply relevant?
+3
-0

This thread has been marked as locked.