Forum Thread: Full scan schedule: Change?

You are currently viewing a forum thread in the Secunia Community Forum. Please note that opinions expressed here are not of Secunia but solely reflect those of the user who wrote it.

This thread was submitted in the following forum:
PSI

This thread has been marked as locked.
Tarq57 Full scan schedule: Change?
Member 12th Sep, 2010 06:21
Ranking: 16
Posts: 106
User Since: 20th Dec, 2007
System Score: N/A
Location: NZ
Every 7 days a full system scan is performed.
I wish to temporarily change the timing of this, to increase the interval to about 12 days.
Anyone know how?

--
Windows XP Home 32, SP3- patched as they are released, AMD 3500+, 2G RAM, avast 8.0, Autorun Eater, Secunia PSI.

Leendert Kip Full scan schedule: Change?
Contributor 12th Sep, 2010 06:59
Score: 137
Posts: 611
User Since: 22nd Jan 2009
System Score: N/A
Location: NL
Last edited on 12th Sep, 2010 07:01
on 12th Sep, 2010 06:21, Tarq57 wrote:
I wish to temporarily change the timing of this, to increase the interval to about 12 days. Anyone know how?

No, there is no scheduler facility in PSI. I myself run PSI at least two times a week and start manually.


--
PC: PWA Computers
Intel Core I3 2100 3.1Ghz
Kingston DDR3 ValueRam 4GB 1333
Kingston SSD SV300S 240GB
Windows 7 Home Premium 64bits SP1
Secunia PSI 3.0.0.11005
Internet Explorer 11
Mozilla Firefox 59.0.2NL
Google Chrome 66.0.3359.117

Laptop: MSI GT780DX
Intel Core I5-2450
DDR3 RAM 6GB
Windows 7 Home Premium 64bits SP1
Secunia PSI 3.0.0.11005
Internet Explorer 11
Mozilla Firefox 59.0.2NL
Was this reply relevant?
+1
-0
Tarq57 RE: Full scan schedule: Change?
Member 12th Sep, 2010 07:15
Score: 16
Posts: 106
User Since: 20th Dec 2007
System Score: N/A
Location: NZ
I realise there is no scheduler. Is there an .ini file anywhere that can maybe be manually edited?

--
Windows XP Home 32, SP3- patched as they are released, AMD 3500+, 2G RAM, avast 8.0, Autorun Eater, Secunia PSI.
Was this reply relevant?
+0
-0
Leendert Kip Full scan schedule: Change?
Contributor 12th Sep, 2010 07:53
Score: 137
Posts: 611
User Since: 22nd Jan 2009
System Score: N/A
Location: NL
Last edited on 12th Sep, 2010 07:53
on 12th Sep, 2010 07:15, Tarq57 wrote:
I realise there is no scheduler. Is there an .ini file anywhere that can maybe be manually edited?

You can be sure that there is really no way to create a schedule. This question appears regularly often in the Forum and Secunia staff everytime confirm that there is no way to change this and that there are no plans to change that in future versions. Starting manually on the time I want works OK for me.


--
PC: PWA Computers
Intel Core I3 2100 3.1Ghz
Kingston DDR3 ValueRam 4GB 1333
Kingston SSD SV300S 240GB
Windows 7 Home Premium 64bits SP1
Secunia PSI 3.0.0.11005
Internet Explorer 11
Mozilla Firefox 59.0.2NL
Google Chrome 66.0.3359.117

Laptop: MSI GT780DX
Intel Core I5-2450
DDR3 RAM 6GB
Windows 7 Home Premium 64bits SP1
Secunia PSI 3.0.0.11005
Internet Explorer 11
Mozilla Firefox 59.0.2NL
Was this reply relevant?
+1
-0
Tarq57 RE: Full scan schedule: Change?
Member 12th Sep, 2010 07:57
Score: 16
Posts: 106
User Since: 20th Dec 2007
System Score: N/A
Location: NZ
OK, thanks for the answer. I believe you. I've already searched for an ini file or registry setting to achieve this, to no avail.

Routine scans work fine for me, too. Somebody less computer savvy than me will be using the computer for a while. I shall simply uninstall PSI for that duration. Bit of a PITA, though. But better than having the user respond incorrectly to a possible prompt.

--
Windows XP Home 32, SP3- patched as they are released, AMD 3500+, 2G RAM, avast 8.0, Autorun Eater, Secunia PSI.
Was this reply relevant?
+0
-0
Leendert Kip Full scan schedule: Change?
Contributor 12th Sep, 2010 08:12
Score: 137
Posts: 611
User Since: 22nd Jan 2009
System Score: N/A
Location: NL
Last edited on 12th Sep, 2010 08:13
[quote=p25802]I shall simply uninstall PSI for that duration.
That's not necessary. In 'settings' you can untick 'start PSI on boot'. Then PSI don't start at boot but you can always start manually. The scheduled scans run silent, so you haven't to worry about that.

--
PC: PWA Computers
Intel Core I3 2100 3.1Ghz
Kingston DDR3 ValueRam 4GB 1333
Kingston SSD SV300S 240GB
Windows 7 Home Premium 64bits SP1
Secunia PSI 3.0.0.11005
Internet Explorer 11
Mozilla Firefox 59.0.2NL
Google Chrome 66.0.3359.117

Laptop: MSI GT780DX
Intel Core I5-2450
DDR3 RAM 6GB
Windows 7 Home Premium 64bits SP1
Secunia PSI 3.0.0.11005
Internet Explorer 11
Mozilla Firefox 59.0.2NL
Was this reply relevant?
+1
-0
Tarq57 RE: Full scan schedule: Change?
Member 12th Sep, 2010 09:08
Score: 16
Posts: 106
User Since: 20th Dec 2007
System Score: N/A
Location: NZ
I'm not worried about the scan per se, simply the results window that pops up when a scan has been completed. I would not want the user to react to that, if there was an out-of-date software/vulnerability displayed; more from the standpoint of not causing the user anxiety, than regarding anything they might then do with the result.
I can undo/fix stuff normally without drama.

I have the PSI running using a startup delayer, so the check box you mentioned is already unticked; the main exe is in the path to the delayer. Rather than uninstalling it, I shall simply delete the entry in the startup delayer.

Thanks again.


--
Windows XP Home 32, SP3- patched as they are released, AMD 3500+, 2G RAM, avast 8.0, Autorun Eater, Secunia PSI.
Was this reply relevant?
+1
-0

This thread has been marked as locked.