Forum Thread: All of a sudden Windows 7 is a threat

You are currently viewing a forum thread in the Secunia Community Forum. Please note that opinions expressed here are not of Secunia but solely reflect those of the user who wrote it.

This thread was submitted in the following forum:
Programs

Relating to this vendor:
Microsoft
And, this specific program:
Microsoft Windows 7

This thread has been marked as locked.
SecDaan All of a sudden Windows 7 is a threat
Member 15th Sep, 2010 03:14
Ranking: 0
User Since: 11th Mar, 2010
System Score: N/A
Tonight when I logged on, Windows 7 (64 bit) is listed as a threat.
I am an IT professional, I work for the State of Wisconsin, USA.
This machine is up to date (double checked). Hell, I make my living securing computers.
There is no path listed for the security issue. September's patches have already been applied with no 'alert' from Secunia.
I ran the usual batch of kernel attack programs, port reporters, even tried to hammer my way into the system from outside with a special virus program.
There are no unusual entries in the various system logs. Reviewed the update logs without finding anything amiss.
Ran Burnin Test 6.0 & Performance Test 7.0. Did deep scans with Avira and Vipre (Enterprise edition). Nothing found, firewall seems fine, no trojans, rootkits, or any other type of virus found.
Checked install logs, nothing there.
Cisco ASA is running and properly updated as is Windows firewall.
So, no malicious programs running (or stored), no open/unmonitored ports, no new programs installed, firewall running fine, same with ASA/PIX ...
Bat Blue, Barracuda, and Microsoft do not know anything new (there are the usual suspects with them however Microsoft says they do not have anything planned 'out of cycle'). Same same with our forum members of Black Hat and DefCon.