Forum Thread: PSI Security Cert Problem

You are currently viewing a forum thread in the Secunia Community Forum. Please note that opinions expressed here are not of Secunia but solely reflect those of the user who wrote it.

This thread was submitted in the following forum:
PSI

This thread has been marked as locked.
BartC PSI Security Cert Problem
Member 30th Sep, 2010 08:50
Ranking: 17
Posts: 19
User Since: 17th Jun, 2008
System Score: N/A
Location: US
PSI has worked great until just recently, when it started to error out. I then un-installed and re-install PSI, but the problem persists. The error message is:

An error occurred while verifying the Security Certificate. The Secunia PSI cannot continue execution.

It has full rights through the firewall, and I am not using any proxy servers. It is the current 1.x version. The OS is WinXP Pro with all recent MS updates. It is running under an Admin logon. And, the system clock is correct (often a gotcha with security certificates.)

What to do next???

This user no longer exists RE: PSI Security Cert Problem
Member 30th Sep, 2010 09:34
Hi,

Please try following the steps outlined in this item of our FAQ: http://secunia.com/vulnerability_scanning/personal...

Doing so should allow you to use the PSI.

hope this helps.
Was this reply relevant?
+0
-0
efgerman RE: PSI Security Cert Problem
Member 1st Oct, 2010 19:11
Score: -4
Posts: 10
User Since: 7th May 2008
System Score: N/A
Location: BR
Hello!

I have the same problem here on our home LAN. I have three computers using PSI and two of them work fine: a laptop on WiFi and a desktop on LAN cable. The third computer, in which PSI used to work fine, stopped do work without any particular reason. There's no firewall constraints and Windows is up-to-date.

I have your FAQ checked, including your provided link, and found no cause why PSI refuses to run, for both last stable and beta versions. At start-up I get a dialog "An error occurred while verifying the Security Certificate. The Secunia PSI cannot continue executions".

Can you point directions? TIA.

Euler

--
Kind regards,
Euler
Was this reply relevant?
+1
-0
BartC RE: PSI Security Cert Problem
Member 2nd Oct, 2010 08:11
Score: 17
Posts: 19
User Since: 17th Jun 2008
System Score: N/A
Location: US
Well, the problem continues, in spite of trying Secunia's suggestions. I have 5 machines on our home network. Three of them are running PSI. 1 is the new v2 beta and it work fine, the second is running the current v1x and it works fine, but the laptop running v1x stopped working for no apparent reason. These three machines are all running XPpro with all current MS updates, and are all running NIS 2011. I update the OS, virus, etc. on these machines all at the same time. So I don't think it relates to some update. But one doesn't connect, and fails out, and the other two work just fine.
Was this reply relevant?
+0
-0
This user no longer exists RE: PSI Security Cert Problem
Member 4th Oct, 2010 10:57
Hi,

Please confirm that you have followed all the steps in the FAQ, including
"If this has still not fixed your problem, please try opening Internet Explorer, then go to Tools->Internet Options->Advanced->Security->Check for server certificate revocation. "

If this setting is disabled, and you still get the same error about the Security Certificate, can you please tell me what happens when you try to connect to https://psi.secunia.com ?
Was this reply relevant?
+0
-0
efgerman RE: PSI Security Cert Problem
Member 4th Oct, 2010 20:36
Score: -4
Posts: 10
User Since: 7th May 2008
System Score: N/A
Location: BR
Hi Emil,

Every step followed by the letter, but no joy whatsoever. Trying the https://psi.secunia.com/ link did return an error ("site certificate is either invalid or revoked" -- sort of, I'm translating from Portuguese). Other computers do not have any problems (a desktop running WinXP Pro SP3 ptBR, and a notebook running WinXP Pro SP3 enUS).

Obviously, there's something wrong on one of my machines related to security certificates. Is there any another way I can get your certificate to work on that machine? BTW, other Thawte certificates do behave properly there.

Thanks for your attention.


--
Kind regards,
Euler
Was this reply relevant?
+0
-0
efgerman RE: PSI Security Cert Problem (SOLVED)
Member 4th Oct, 2010 20:57
Score: -4
Posts: 10
User Since: 7th May 2008
System Score: N/A
Location: BR
Hi,

Culprit found! It was computer's internal clock. I don't know why it reset to year 2000 and the app used to set the clock (Robin Keir's Neutron) wasn't properly set, so date remained wrong and I didn't notice. I think if you have a date set prior to that of certificate creation you'll get the error message above.

With today's date set PSI reaches Secunia with no other problems. Thanks.

--
Kind regards,
Euler
Was this reply relevant?
+0
-0
BartC RE: PSI Security Cert Problem
Member 5th Oct, 2010 03:33
Score: 17
Posts: 19
User Since: 17th Jun 2008
System Score: N/A
Location: US
OK, so here is the latest status:

With the steps in the FAQ implemented, PSI would still not connect. But, I could connect to:

https://psi.secunia.com/

But, it redirected to:

http://secunia.com/vulnerability_scanning/personal...

So I did the additional step of disabling "Check for certificate revocation"

At that point PSI did connect and run correctly.

HOWEVER, PSI previously ran OK with "Check for certificate revocation" enabled. Also, after using PSI I will go back and turn that checking on, as I don't want to run without that security check.

So why did it work before, and not now...?

thanks...

Was this reply relevant?
+0
-0

Deepanshu

RE: PSI Security Cert Problem
[+]
This reply has been minimised due to a negative Relevancy Score.
This user no longer exists RE: PSI Security Cert Problem
Member 5th Oct, 2010 08:43
Hi,

@efgerman
Glad everything is working for you now. If you have any further issues, please do not hesitate to post back.

on 5th Oct, 2010 03:33, BartC wrote:

...
HOWEVER, PSI previously ran OK with "Check for certificate revocation" enabled. Also, after using PSI I will go back and turn that checking on, as I don't want to run without that security check.
...


The Secunia Certificate (needed for SSL - https - connections), is signed by Thawthe. If your computer is unable to contact the Thawthe servers to check for revocation, you will not be able to use the PSI.

The PSI tries to connect to http://crl.thawte.com/ - this is where certificate revocation would be made obvious.

The step of disabling the "Check for Certificate Revocation" indicates that the step that's failing is connecting to Thawthe's servers. I suggest you contact Thawthe support for help in resolving this issue.

Was this reply relevant?
+0
-0
BartC RE: PSI Security Cert Problem
Member 5th Oct, 2010 08:57
Score: 17
Posts: 19
User Since: 17th Jun 2008
System Score: N/A
Location: US
Quote:
The PSI tries to connect to http://crl.thawte.com/ - this is where certificate revocation would be made obvious.

The step of disabling the "Check for Certificate Revocation" indicates that the step that's failing is connecting to Thawthe's servers. I suggest you contact Thawthe support for help in resolving this issue.

Ok, but my browser connects just fine to the thawte link you provided.

I am going to add that URL to my trusted sites list and keep "Check for certificate revocation" on and see if that helps.

I'll report back as soon as I have some time to try it.

Thanks...
Was this reply relevant?
+0
-0

This thread has been marked as locked.