Forum Thread: JavaRa

You are currently viewing a forum thread in the Secunia Community Forum. Please note that opinions expressed here are not of Secunia but solely reflect those of the user who wrote it.

This thread was submitted in the following forum:
Open Discussions

This thread has been marked as resolved.
bjm__ JavaRa
Member 21st Dec, 2010 17:38
Ranking: 64
Posts: 374
User Since: 9th Mar, 2009
System Score: N/A
Location: US
Hello Secunia Community
Might anyone know or have experience with JavaRa & Win7
Info I find is Win7 is not supported.
Is JavaRa compatible with Win7

Thanks

Post "RE: JavaRa " has been selected as an answer.
gjjean RE: JavaRa
Contributor 21st Dec, 2010 18:16
Score: 192
Posts: 197
User Since: 9th Apr 2010
System Score: N/A
Location: LB
@ bjm

To have an idea of JavaRa you can visit the following site:

http://raproducts.org/java.html

If you are using win7, you have to download the 32bit version of java from their site:

http://www.java.com

After installing java you can browse for it in C:\programfiles(x86)\java\jre6\bin\java.exe

The latest version is java 6.23 (6.0.230.5)

Hope that help.


--
HP pavilion DV6
Win 7 64bit - SP1
IE10 + MSSE4.3.215
Was this reply relevant?
+2
-0
gjjean RE: JavaRa
Contributor 21st Dec, 2010 18:31
Score: 192
Posts: 197
User Since: 9th Apr 2010
System Score: N/A
Location: LB


--
HP pavilion DV6
Win 7 64bit - SP1
IE10 + MSSE4.3.215
Was this reply relevant?
+1
-1
bjm__ RE: JavaRa
Member 22nd Dec, 2010 01:17
Score: 64
Posts: 374
User Since: 9th Mar 2009
System Score: N/A
Location: US
Same question: Is JavaRa supported in Win7
Anyone run JavaRA with Win7
JavaRa Documentation > http://raproducts.org/javara.html > Currently, JavaRa supports Windows 9x, 2k, XP, and Vista without UAC.
The links offered in above posts do not specify JavaRa Windows Version Supported.
This link is 404 > http://raproducts.org/java.html
I don't need info for Java
This link > http://www.windows7download.com/win7-javara/alzbof... < may point to Win7 Downloads. But, I do not see JavaRa runs/supported on Win7.
I seek...documentation that reads JavaRa supports Windows Win7 or,
a user tells me that JavaRa version x.xx runs on Win7
Posted info at http://raproducts.org/wordpress/ > Currently, JavaRa supports Windows 9x, 2k, XP, and Vista without UAC.
Change log for 1.16 beta does not mention inclusion of any new Windows version.
Same question: Is JavaRa supported in Win7
Anyone run JavaRA with Win7
Thanks
bjm-
Was this reply relevant?
+0
-0
Maurice Joyce RE: JavaRa
Handling Contributor 22nd Dec, 2010 01:39
Score: 12325
Posts: 9,575
User Since: 4th Jan 2009
System Score: N/A
Location: UK
Just tested it for U on my Windows 7 using this link:

http://raproducts.org/wordpress/

Appeared to work OK.

--
Maurice

Microsoft Surface 4 Intel i7 64Bit
Windows 10 Pro version 1809 Build 17763.404
16 GB RAM
IE & Edge Only
Was this reply relevant?
+2
-0
bjm__ RE: JavaRa
Member 22nd Dec, 2010 02:19
Score: 64
Posts: 374
User Since: 9th Mar 2009
System Score: N/A
Location: US
Hello Maurice Joyce,
Thanks for your time and interest...
JavaRa app saved on my Vista box some time back ~ About > 1.16
Any guess as to why all info points to 1.16 beta.
Any guess as to why More Information > http://raproducts.org/wordpress/software > Currently, JavaRa supports Windows 9x, 2k, XP, and Vista without UAC.
Any guess why all sites point to beta > http://www.windows7download.com/win7-javara/alzbof...

Thanks for testing JavaRa w Win7 for me. I run Vista. I am trying my hand at long distance help for a friend running Win7. So, I'm extra double cautious before suggesting anything that I have not done myself. My JavaRa is 1.16 and all links for JavaRa point to 1.16 beta. I be confused as I don't run beta apps. How I acquired 1.16 non beta when all links point to beta. IDK / Confused ?

Regards
bjm-

Was this reply relevant?
+0
-0
Maurice Joyce RE: JavaRa
Handling Contributor 22nd Dec, 2010 02:28
Score: 12325
Posts: 9,575
User Since: 4th Jan 2009
System Score: N/A
Location: UK
Very wise. I am happy using BETA but would not normally recommend it on a main user platform.

In this case looks very stable so if required as a "one off" to remove some old JAVA dross I would recommend it.

I saved it to desktop,used it from there & then dumped it. No problems.



--
Maurice

Microsoft Surface 4 Intel i7 64Bit
Windows 10 Pro version 1809 Build 17763.404
16 GB RAM
IE & Edge Only
Was this reply relevant?
+2
-0
bjm__ RE: JavaRa
Member 22nd Dec, 2010 02:45
Score: 64
Posts: 374
User Since: 9th Mar 2009
System Score: N/A
Location: US
Last edited on 22nd Dec, 2010 02:46
Hello Maurice
I follow your comments...
How the ???? do I have JavaRa > About > 1.16
I must have pulled the download link from PSI Forum some time back.
Odd 1.16 reverts back to 1.16 beta. Or, I have beta and About 1.16 is half write. ;-)
Granted, since newer versions of Java remove immediate prior Java version the need for JavaRa may have dwindled.
I have contacted RaProducts as to my concerns ... will see if they reply.
Thanks again....was nice to visit with you again.

Venerable Master has bestowed many gifts of knowledge upon this lowly lacking grasshopper. My absence from these boards is evidence of how well I have learned my lessons.
Venerable Master is a cherished source of advice and wisdom for the Secunia Community.
Peace be upon you
Was this reply relevant?
+0
-0

This thread has been marked as locked.