Forum Thread: only blank window opens with new update

You are currently viewing a forum thread in the Secunia Community Forum. Please note that opinions expressed here are not of Secunia but solely reflect those of the user who wrote it.

This thread was submitted in the following forum:
PSI

This thread has been marked as resolved.
steveb only blank window opens with new update
Member 22nd Dec, 2010 18:04
Ranking: 0
Posts: 5
User Since: 4th Jun, 2008
System Score: N/A
Location: Irvine, US
I'm running XP SP3 Home and Firefox 3.6.13. I just tried to update to the latest version of PSI, which went without a hitch. However, when I open the program all I get is a blank window. I've tried a number of the fixes suggested in other posts: disable handwriting recognition, clear cache, clean registry, but I still only get a blank window. When I mouse over the icon on the bottom right of the screen, all it says is "secunia psi tray." Please help!!

Post "RE: only blank window opens with new update" has been selected as an answer.
wozofoz RE: only blank window opens with new update
Member 22nd Dec, 2010 18:14
Score: 0
Posts: 2
User Since: 31st Aug 2009
System Score: N/A
Location: N/A
Last edited on 22nd Dec, 2010 18:17
I have the same problem but after waiting a looooooooong time I got a message that said something like:

"Make sure you can connect to http://psi.secunia.com and then launch Secunia again.
You can't use proxies at the moment"

I tried to go to http://psi.secunia.com but both FireFox and Internet Explorer just sit there spinning their wheels and going nowhere until they finally give up.
I guess this is the problem and hopefully the answer :-)

Edit: Sorry, I forgot to mention, Windows XP SP3 Home
Fully up to date thanks to Secunia PSI ;-)

All the best, woz of oz
Was this reply relevant?
+0
-0
This user no longer exists RE: only blank window opens with new update
Member 22nd Dec, 2010 18:20
Hi,

Please try the steps outlined in this item of our FAQ:
http://secunia.com/vulnerability_scanning/personal...

Has this resolved the problem?

If not, please see my post of 17:56 to this thread:
http://secunia.com/community/forum/thread/show/678...

If this has not resolved your problem, please click 'Accept' on this post and instead post your feedback in the thread I linked (as this makes the problem much more manageable for us).

hope this helps.
Was this reply relevant?
+0
-0
VIDJFD Blank Screen
Member 22nd Dec, 2010 18:28
Score: 0
Posts: 2
User Since: 22nd Dec 2010
System Score: N/A
Location: US
I took am receiving a BLANK SCREEN.

I am using Windows XP Professional SP3
Mozilla Firefox latest version

Older version worked correctly on this computer.

Need a suggestion!!


VIDJFD
Was this reply relevant?
+0
-0
secusue RE: only blank window opens with new update
Member 22nd Dec, 2010 18:34
Score: 1
Posts: 3
User Since: 27th Jun 2009
System Score: N/A
Location: N/A
Same thing here: XP Pro SP3 with Firefox. Couldn't see a way to adapt the IE fix to Firefox. Initially opened with a blank screen but after several minutes got a box on verifying internet connection which is stopped at very start. Disabled my firewall and it did not help. Just wish I could load an older version of Secunia which worked great!!!! so much for progress. Sue
Was this reply relevant?
+0
-0
This user no longer exists RE: only blank window opens with new update
Member 22nd Dec, 2010 18:43
Hi,

Please note my post above, and post questions about this issue to this thread:
http://secunia.com/community/forum/thread/show/678...

Though before asking anything, please try the solutions I layed out in my post to the above thread as of 17:56.

If this has resolved your problem, post back to the other thread and please tell me which of the solutions helped you. If not, post back to the other thread and say so.
Was this reply relevant?
+0
-0

This thread has been marked as locked.