Forum Thread: Verifying workstation service ["PSI 2.0 does not display"]

You are currently viewing a forum thread in the Secunia Community Forum. Please note that opinions expressed here are not of Secunia but solely reflect those of the user who wrote it.

This thread was submitted in the following forum:
PSI

This thread has been marked as resolved.
Ando66 Verifying workstation service ["PSI 2.0 does not display"]
Member 29th Dec, 2010 13:06
Ranking: 1
Posts: 5
User Since: 29th Dec, 2010
System Score: N/A
Location: AT
Last edited on 29th Dec, 2010 13:10

Referring to thread "PSI 2.0 does not display":

>1) Ensure that the workstation service is running.
>This service is enabled by default, so unless you disabled it, it should be >activated.


Could you please advise

1) how to verify that workstation service is running
2) if not how to make it running


I use the German edition of WinXP SP3 so the correct translation of "workstation service" should be "Arbeitsstationsdienst"?

Thank you!

Post "RE: Verifying workstation service ["PSI 2.0 does not display"]" has been selected as an answer.
Maurice Joyce RE: Verifying workstation service ["PSI 2.0 does not display"]
Handling Contributor 29th Dec, 2010 16:33
Score: 12325
Posts: 9,575
User Since: 4th Jan 2009
System Score: N/A
Location: UK
Last edited on 29th Dec, 2010 16:34
Go to Control Panel>Administrative Tools>Click Services Shortcut icon>Scroll down the list presented (near the bottom) & U will see WORKSTATION. It should be started & set to automatic.

If U require to make changes double click the Workstation entry.

If all your problems are now resolved could U please lock (Accept) the thread. This will prevent us both from receiving update emails from "tag on" posts.



--
Maurice

Microsoft Surface 4 Intel i7 64Bit
Windows 10 Pro version 1809 Build 17763.404
16 GB RAM
IE & Edge Only
Was this reply relevant?
+2
-0
Ando66 RE: Verifying workstation service ["PSI 2.0 does not display"]
Member 29th Dec, 2010 16:59
Score: 1
Posts: 5
User Since: 29th Dec 2010
System Score: N/A
Location: AT
Thanks I checked "services" on my XP machine but the list does not contain the entries "workstation" resp. "arbeitsstationsdienst". How to proceed?
Was this reply relevant?
+0
-0
Maurice Joyce RE: Verifying workstation service ["PSI 2.0 does not display"]
Handling Contributor 29th Dec, 2010 17:41
Score: 12325
Posts: 9,575
User Since: 4th Jan 2009
System Score: N/A
Location: UK
I would take another detailed look - it is part of Windows & must be there somewhere.

--
Maurice

Microsoft Surface 4 Intel i7 64Bit
Windows 10 Pro version 1809 Build 17763.404
16 GB RAM
IE & Edge Only
Was this reply relevant?
+0
-0
Ando66 RE: Verifying workstation service ["PSI 2.0 does not display"]
Member 29th Dec, 2010 17:47
Score: 1
Posts: 5
User Since: 29th Dec 2010
System Score: N/A
Location: AT
Last edited on 29th Dec, 2010 17:47
Thanks I already did but no success :-( So I return to Ver. 1.x

It's really a pity that 2.0 has still issues which prevent from using it. Please continue to work on it :-)
Was this reply relevant?
+0
-0

This thread has been marked as locked.