Forum Thread: Drives selection no work ? Sheduled full scans

You are currently viewing a forum thread in the Secunia Community Forum. Please note that opinions expressed here are not of Secunia but solely reflect those of the user who wrote it.

This thread was submitted in the following forum:
PSI

This thread has been marked as locked.
Oldevil Drives selection no work ? Sheduled full scans
Member 7th Jan, 2011 20:37
Ranking: 0
Posts: 3
User Since: 6th Jan, 2011
System Score: N/A
Location: NL
Last edited on 7th Jan, 2011 20:42

I accidental clicked on accept and the thread was locked (DOH)
The solution provided did not work, i tried it all, reinstall), full scan, close and wait 5 mins, reboot system, there are still no drives visible in the drive selection option.
Another question: i see there is a new full scan scheduled a week in the future, why is that necessary if the dashboard is constantly monitoring installation of new programmes? i don't want programmes start doing stuff on my pc slowing it down and me wondering what is going on, i cannot find scheduling to stop this in options

86Redbird RE: Drives selection no work ? Sheduled full scans
Member 9th Jan, 2011 05:02
Score: 3
Posts: 11
User Since: 21st Aug 2009
System Score: N/A
Location: US
I had a problem with my drives not being detected on version 2.0.0.2001. I found a solution to my problem was to go back to where version 2.0.0.1003 was loaded which showed my drives. I went to the Community Forum, and clicked on "Download PSI" in the upper RH corner. I followed the directions. After PSI version 2.0.0.2001 loaded, my drives appeared. I hope this helps you. No answer to question 2.

--
Windows 7 Home Premium (x64)
Service Pack 1
AMD Athlon II X2 250
IE 11
8 GB Ram
Secunia PSI 3.0 v 3.0.0.11005


Was this reply relevant?
+0
-0
DiabloBlack RE: Drives selection no work ? Sheduled full scans
Member 9th Jan, 2011 11:04
Score: 0
Posts: 5
User Since: 9th Jan 2011
System Score: N/A
Location: US
I have the same problem (Drives selection), Secunia PSI (2.0.0.2001) does NOT show any detected drives period but scans all drives. I have tried everything mentioned in the other posts with no luck.

In the latest version Secunia PSI (2.0.0.2001) under Configuration>Settings>Drives the ONLY thing displayed is Detected Drives:(Check drive letters to include) and the rest of the page is blank.

I have confirmed this on the following installations:

Windows 7 Home Premium (64bit)
Windows 7 Ultimate (32 bit)
Windows Vista Ultimate (32 bit SP2)
Windows XP Professional (x86 SP3)

Any working suggestion/solution would be greatly appreciated.
Was this reply relevant?
+0
-0
Johnmw1 RE: Drives selection no work ? Sheduled full scans
Member 10th Jan, 2011 03:18
Score: 1
Posts: 10
User Since: 12th Apr 2008
System Score: N/A
Location: AU
Hi,

I also have a similar problem where I have just done a fresh install of XP and re-installed the newest version of PSI today. Unfortunately it scaned my old drive and picked up on a lot of old and outdated programs. When looking at configuration / settings there are no drives available to check.

Unbeknown to me it then started to automatically download and update some of these older programs. Very efficient but not really what I wanted. :-)

With a clean system I'm expecting 100% but I cannot get that until I resolve the problem. I could try uninstalling and having another go but I'm not sure that will solve the problem as other people are also having a similar episode.

I did also shut down, wait and reboot as suggested earlier, but to no avail.

Cheers
John
Was this reply relevant?
+0
-0
This user no longer exists RE: Drives selection no work ? Sheduled full scans
Member 10th Jan, 2011 11:01
Last edited on 10th Jan, 2011 11:28 Hi,

Thank you all for reporting this issue.

I have confirmed the problem on one of our internal test setups, and we will be conducting further tests.

Have anyone experienced this issue on a machine that had a previous installation of the PSI?

Thank you all for helping us resolve these issues!
Was this reply relevant?
+0
-0
DiabloBlack RE: Drives selection no work ? Sheduled full scans
Member 10th Jan, 2011 12:41
Score: 0
Posts: 5
User Since: 9th Jan 2011
System Score: N/A
Location: US
I am a new user and did not have a previous installation of PSI on any of the PC's mentioned in my first post.

Thank you for looking into this issue.

Regards,
Jim
Was this reply relevant?
+0
-0
86Redbird RE: Drives selection no work ? Sheduled full scans
Member 10th Jan, 2011 17:45
Score: 3
Posts: 11
User Since: 21st Aug 2009
System Score: N/A
Location: US
I had 2.0.0.1003 , and my drives were detected. I did an "uninstall",and downloaded 2.0.0.2001. Result- NO DRIVES DETECTED. I used my backup to reinstall 2.0.0.1003, and then I downloaded 2.0.0.2001. Problem solved. It appears that the problem is with a "completely new installation".

--
Windows 7 Home Premium (x64)
Service Pack 1
AMD Athlon II X2 250
IE 11
8 GB Ram
Secunia PSI 3.0 v 3.0.0.11005


Was this reply relevant?
+0
-0
Johnmw1 RE: Drives selection no work ? Sheduled full scans
Member 10th Jan, 2011 22:46
Score: 1
Posts: 10
User Since: 12th Apr 2008
System Score: N/A
Location: AU
Last edited on 10th Jan, 2011 22:50
Hi Emil,

Likewise for me I had the previous version and had no issues until my crash which resulted in updating to this latest version and having the no drives problem.

I have also disabled in start-up for the moment because it keeps trying to update my old programs.

Cheers
John
Was this reply relevant?
+0
-0
DiabloBlack RE: Drives selection no work ? Sheduled full scans
Member 11th Jan, 2011 00:14
Score: 0
Posts: 5
User Since: 9th Jan 2011
System Score: N/A
Location: US
It would appear that there is a new version of PSI even though the download link says "Latest release: 5th Jan, 2011"

When I downloaded PSI the other day for the first time, the installed version was 2.0.0.2001, which is the version having the No Drives Detected issue. I just uninstalled that version, downloaded PSI again (which still says Latest release: 5th Jan, 2011), installed and rebooted and I can now see all of my drives. The "new" download/install now says version 2.0.0.3001. I don't know when the version changed but it did fix the No Drives Detected problem.

Thank you Secunia PSI Support, somebody did some magic and fixed the problem :)

Regards,
Jim
Was this reply relevant?
+0
-0
Johnmw1 RE: Drives selection no work ? Sheduled full scans
Member 11th Jan, 2011 02:43
Score: 1
Posts: 10
User Since: 12th Apr 2008
System Score: N/A
Location: AU
Last edited on 11th Jan, 2011 02:44
on 11th Jan, 2011 00:14, DiabloBlack wrote:
It would appear that there is a new version of PSI even though the download link says "Latest release: 5th Jan, 2011"

The "new" download/install now says version 2.0.0.3001. I don't know when the version changed but it did fix the No Drives Detected problem.

Thank you Secunia PSI Support, somebody did some magic and fixed the problem :)

Regards,
Jim


Jim,

I followed your lead and so totally uninstalled 2001 using Revo and then reinstalled 3001. Unfortunately for me I still have the same outcome with no drives detected. so not quite there just yet for me at least.

Cheers
John
Was this reply relevant?
+0
-0
DiabloBlack RE: Drives selection no work ? Sheduled full scans
Member 11th Jan, 2011 04:42
Score: 0
Posts: 5
User Since: 9th Jan 2011
System Score: N/A
Location: US
John,

Did you reboot after the uninstall and after the new install?

Regards,
Jim
Was this reply relevant?
+0
-0
This user no longer exists RE: Drives selection no work ? Sheduled full scans
Member 11th Jan, 2011 09:13
Hi,

This issue should have been fixed with the latest build (3001). If you install this version and run a full rescan (alternatively, reboot), they should all show under Settings > Drives as appropriate.

You can fetch the newest build from here: ftp://ftp.secunia.com/PSISetup.exe

Hope this helps.
Was this reply relevant?
+0
-0
Oldevil RE: Drives selection no work ? Sheduled full scans
Member 11th Jan, 2011 16:49
Score: 0
Posts: 3
User Since: 6th Jan 2011
System Score: N/A
Location: NL
Finally it works, thanks for all the efforts
Was this reply relevant?
+0
-0
Johnmw1 RE: Drives selection no work ? Sheduled full scans
Member 11th Jan, 2011 22:14
Score: 1
Posts: 10
User Since: 12th Apr 2008
System Score: N/A
Location: AU
Jim,

I think you're on the money, because after booting up this morning I have my drives back so problem solved.

Thanks for your help and to Emil also for getting on top of this straight away. Wish I could say the same about MS Outlook 2010.

Cheers
John
Was this reply relevant?
+1
-0
Maurice Joyce RE: Drives selection no work ? Sheduled full scans
Handling Contributor 11th Jan, 2011 22:55
Score: 12325
Posts: 9,575
User Since: 4th Jan 2009
System Score: N/A
Location: UK
John,
I use Outlook 2010. If U open your own thread under Open Discussions I will try & help U.

--
Maurice

Microsoft Surface 4 Intel i7 64Bit
Windows 10 Pro version 1809 Build 17763.404
16 GB RAM
IE & Edge Only
Was this reply relevant?
+0
-0
Johnmw1 RE: Drives selection no work ? Sheduled full scans
Member 12th Jan, 2011 00:51
Score: 1
Posts: 10
User Since: 12th Apr 2008
System Score: N/A
Location: AU
Thanks Maurice,

I shall post soon. I do have MS Support offering their help at the momet but it's almost as if it's being read by a machine rather than any human being as what ever I have told them so far, they seem to read it entirely differently.

Cheers
John
Was this reply relevant?
+0
-0
BartC RE: Drives selection no work ? Sheduled full scans
Member 12th Jan, 2011 09:49
Score: 17
Posts: 19
User Since: 17th Jun 2008
System Score: N/A
Location: US
Yes, my install of 2.0 shows no drives and I can not add any. This in spite on a full uninstall of the previous version and deleting the original install dir.

I can not scan or add drives to the config page.

See my post: Error, and no scan



Was this reply relevant?
+0
-0
This user no longer exists RE: Drives selection no work ? Sheduled full scans
Member 13th Jan, 2011 09:04
Hi,

Did you try installing build 3001 as per. my prior post to this thread? We fixed the bug in this version and, as far as we can tell, it should work for everybody.

You can get it here: ftp://ftp.secunia.com/PSISetup.exe

Hope this helps.
Was this reply relevant?
+0
-0

This thread has been marked as locked.