Forum Thread: No History or Update Display in PSI 2.0.0.3001

You are currently viewing a forum thread in the Secunia Community Forum. Please note that opinions expressed here are not of Secunia but solely reflect those of the user who wrote it.

This thread was submitted in the following forum:
PSI

This thread has been marked as locked.
Zorkoff No History or Update Display in PSI 2.0.0.3001
Member 13th Mar, 2011 20:12
Ranking: 16
Posts: 10
User Since: 6th Jan, 2010
System Score: N/A
Location: US
According to the Secunia Manual PDF, the areas at the bottom of the dashboard are supposed to display a histogram of the security by week. I have had this version installed for several weeks and it is still blank. The patch history is also blank.

Is there some graphic support needed to display this information?

I am running Windows 7 Pro x64 with .NET 2.0, 3.0, 3.5, 4.0

The previous version 1.5.xxx displayed the graph on my old Win XP.

Maurice Joyce RE: No History or Update Display in PSI 2.0.0.3001
Handling Contributor 13th Mar, 2011 20:13
Score: 12325
Posts: 9,575
User Since: 4th Jan 2009
System Score: N/A
Location: UK
Are U by chance using IE9 BETA?


--
Maurice

Microsoft Surface 4 Intel i7 64Bit
Windows 10 Pro version 1809 Build 17763.404
16 GB RAM
IE & Edge Only
Was this reply relevant?
+0
-0
Zorkoff RE: No History or Update Display in PSI 2.0.0.3001
Member 13th Mar, 2011 20:15
Score: 16
Posts: 10
User Since: 6th Jan 2010
System Score: N/A
Location: US
No. My default browser is Firefox, but I have IE-8 installed.
Was this reply relevant?
+0
-0
Maurice Joyce RE: No History or Update Display in PSI 2.0.0.3001
Handling Contributor 13th Mar, 2011 20:22
Score: 12325
Posts: 9,575
User Since: 4th Jan 2009
System Score: N/A
Location: UK
Version 1.5 used Flash for the graphics. V2 does not & works well except when IE9 BETA is installed.

Have U tried a reinstall from here:

http://secunia.com/vulnerability_scanning/personal...

Once the download link is activated let PSI "do its thing".



--
Maurice

Microsoft Surface 4 Intel i7 64Bit
Windows 10 Pro version 1809 Build 17763.404
16 GB RAM
IE & Edge Only
Was this reply relevant?
+1
-0
Zorkoff RE: No History or Update Display in PSI 2.0.0.3001
Member 13th Mar, 2011 20:28
Score: 16
Posts: 10
User Since: 6th Jan 2010
System Score: N/A
Location: US
I downloaded a fresh copy using your link.

The file was identical to the file I originally installed (the MD5 checksums matched on both files).

So short of just a re-install, I don't see what difference it would make.

Was this reply relevant?
+0
-0
Maurice Joyce RE: No History or Update Display in PSI 2.0.0.3001
Handling Contributor 13th Mar, 2011 20:42
Score: 12325
Posts: 9,575
User Since: 4th Jan 2009
System Score: N/A
Location: UK
Nor do I if that is the case. It has worked for others but clearly not in this case.

On your PC it appears to affect both V 1.5 & V2 which use different methods to display the graphics so unsure what to suggest next.

Is there any PC settings U may have changed that could be the cause?

This subject has only been raised when some of us were testing IE9 BETA so I suspect it may be a PC setting preventing the display rather than a PSI bug.





--
Maurice

Microsoft Surface 4 Intel i7 64Bit
Windows 10 Pro version 1809 Build 17763.404
16 GB RAM
IE & Edge Only
Was this reply relevant?
+0
-0
Zorkoff RE: No History or Update Display in PSI 2.0.0.3001
Member 13th Mar, 2011 20:54
Score: 16
Posts: 10
User Since: 6th Jan 2010
System Score: N/A
Location: US
The 1.5 was on a different machine...old news now. I just mentioned it as an example of what histogram I expected.

As for V2 on the Win 7 Pro x64, it has never displayed correctly. Sure I have made several changes to the system settings, but I do not think I did anything that would affect the graphical display. Many other programs display graphs just fine.

Do you know what graphical display software/interface is used in V2? That may help to know if there is some setting I can change to solve the problem.

I really appreciate your help with this.
Was this reply relevant?
+0
-0
Maurice Joyce RE: No History or Update Display in PSI 2.0.0.3001
Handling Contributor 13th Mar, 2011 21:08
Score: 12325
Posts: 9,575
User Since: 4th Jan 2009
System Score: N/A
Location: UK
No I do not.

As U are aware Secunia Officials are not active on the Forum at the moment due to priority commitments.

U may wish to contact them direct at support@secunia.com

and hopefully they can answer your query.



--
Maurice

Microsoft Surface 4 Intel i7 64Bit
Windows 10 Pro version 1809 Build 17763.404
16 GB RAM
IE & Edge Only
Was this reply relevant?
+0
-0
Zorkoff RE: No History or Update Display in PSI 2.0.0.3001
Member 13th Mar, 2011 22:50
Score: 16
Posts: 10
User Since: 6th Jan 2010
System Score: N/A
Location: US
I just got it to work as it is supposed to!

I don't know which change made the biggest difference, but I did this:

1. Internet options: for trusted sites, I reduced the restrictions on scripts and ActiveX controls.

2. I added https://psi.secunia.com/ to the trusted site zone as well as Http://*.secunia.com

3. I enabled Secunia Automatic Updates in the settings screen.

Then, when I opened the PSI from the Tray Icon, I was able to see the histogram.

Maurice, it was your comment on IE9 that made me try the internet options. Thank You!

I have no idea WHY these changes had an effect, but at least it works now.
Was this reply relevant?
+0
-0
Maurice Joyce RE: No History or Update Display in PSI 2.0.0.3001
Handling Contributor 13th Mar, 2011 23:08
Score: 12325
Posts: 9,575
User Since: 4th Jan 2009
System Score: N/A
Location: UK
Good news.

If all your problems are now resolved could U please lock (Accept) the thread. This will prevent us both from receiving update emails from "tag on" posts or I can lock it for you.



--
Maurice

Microsoft Surface 4 Intel i7 64Bit
Windows 10 Pro version 1809 Build 17763.404
16 GB RAM
IE & Edge Only
Was this reply relevant?
+0
-0

This thread has been marked as locked.