Forum Thread: Error Message

You are currently viewing a forum thread in the Secunia Community Forum. Please note that opinions expressed here are not of Secunia but solely reflect those of the user who wrote it.

This thread was submitted in the following forum:
PSI

This thread has been marked as locked.
Seeka Error Message
Member 11th Dec, 2008 08:48
Ranking: 0
Posts: 7
User Since: 11th Dec, 2008
System Score: N/A
Location: N/A
When trying to run Secunia PSI I get the following message "Error occurred verifying Security Certificate" and program exits. Any help appreciated.

Cheers

Paul

jscotteubanks RE: Error Message
Member 14th Dec, 2008 03:18
Score: 0
Posts: 16
User Since: 5th Apr 2008
System Score: N/A
Location: Guys, US
Last edited on 14th Dec, 2008 03:24
I'm getting the same message with the same problem. I have uninstalled/reinstalled the program, cleaned the registry, and ran chkdsk. Still cannot get the program to work.

MY MESSAGE IS "CANNOT VERIFY SECURITY CERTIFICATE".
and then the program closes.

Can anyone help?
Thanks,
jscotteubanks

--
Foamy Rules!!!

jscotteubanks
Was this reply relevant?
+0
-0
This user no longer exists RE: Error Message
Member 14th Dec, 2008 03:31
What operating system and Service Pack level installed?
Was this reply relevant?
+0
-0
jscotteubanks RE: Error Message
Member 14th Dec, 2008 03:39
Score: 0
Posts: 16
User Since: 5th Apr 2008
System Score: N/A
Location: Guys, US
XP Home Edition SP3 fully updated.

--
Foamy Rules!!!

jscotteubanks
Was this reply relevant?
+0
-0
Seeka RE: Error Message
Member 14th Dec, 2008 06:54
Score: 0
Posts: 7
User Since: 11th Dec 2008
System Score: N/A
Location: N/A
I'm Using Windows XP Media Edition Fully updated SP3
Was this reply relevant?
+0
-0
BigDave_39 RE: Error Message
Member 14th Dec, 2008 09:42
Score: 0
Posts: 177
User Since: 26th Nov 2008
System Score: N/A
Location: Washington, DC, US
Hi

A security certificate is usually used to encrypt a connection between two points (you and the server) - and to verify that the point you are connecting to, is indeed who it claims to be.

If there is something between you and the server you're talking with (for example a proxy), the certificate validation may break - and i would assume such an error as this one could occur.

Do you have anything that your internet connection goes through e.g. a proxy, which could break this validation? (if you know, it may be set up automatically by your isp).

--
Big Dave
Was this reply relevant?
+0
-0
secunia-medlap RE: Error Message - after Vista Hibernation - restarted - NO problems.
Member 14th Dec, 2008 12:02
Score: 0
Posts: 4
User Since: 9th Dec 2008
System Score: N/A
Location: Amsterdam, NL
Hi,

I had the same error message.

But this was after a night of my laptop in Vista Hibernation.
Before hibernation PSI was an open application.
After waking up my laptop out of the Vista Hibernation, I had the mentioned error message: Error occurred verifying Security Certificate" and the program exits.
I restarted the Secunia PSI, and it is now running and scanning as alsways: normal.
I presumed Secunia PSI tried 'something normal' before my laptop, still 'waking up' had re-established the internetconnection.
But I could be wrong.
As far as I know my internet connection does NOT go through a proxy.

I hope this helps.

Cheers,

Louis

--
You can answer me in English, German and Dutch.
Was this reply relevant?
+0
-0
This user no longer exists RE: Error Message - after Vista Hibernation - restarted - NO problems.
Member 14th Dec, 2008 12:20
secunia-medlap, I never could get adapters to resume correct operation after Hibernation so I powered down and concentrated on getting the boot time as short as possible by removing un-necessary Start Up applications.
Was this reply relevant?
+0
-0
secunia-medlap RE: Error Message - after Vista Hibernation - restarted - NO problems.
Member 14th Dec, 2008 12:36
Score: 0
Posts: 4
User Since: 9th Dec 2008
System Score: N/A
Location: Amsterdam, NL
YoKenny,
It's perhaps a bit offtopic.
I never had problems with vista's hibernation.
I like to resume from where I was the evening before my own nightly hibernation.
I have a Medion MD96290 which I bought in an ALDI supermarket in Amsterdam
(Medion is german brand. I'm not saying it's also 'made in germany')

Cheers,

Louis


--
You can answer me in English, German and Dutch.
Was this reply relevant?
+0
-0
jscotteubanks RE: Error Message
Member 16th Dec, 2008 04:57
Score: 0
Posts: 16
User Since: 5th Apr 2008
System Score: N/A
Location: Guys, US
Last edited on 16th Dec, 2008 04:58


--
Foamy Rules!!!

jscotteubanks
Was this reply relevant?
+0
-0
Seeka RE: Error Message
Member 3rd Jan, 2009 04:30
Score: 0
Posts: 7
User Since: 11th Dec 2008
System Score: N/A
Location: N/A
Hi jscotteubanks,

Thanks for your efforts but that does not seem to be the problem I have gone back to just using the flash scan until this is resolved. Disappointingly I see a number of others are also having the same problems

Cheers

Seeka
Was this reply relevant?
+0
-0

This thread has been marked as locked.