Forum Thread: Windows XP Pro SP2 Shown as Insecure

You are currently viewing a forum thread in the Secunia Community Forum. Please note that opinions expressed here are not of Secunia but solely reflect those of the user who wrote it.

This thread was submitted in the following forum:
Programs

Relating to this vendor:
Microsoft
And, this specific program:
Microsoft Windows XP Professional

This thread has been marked as locked.
J_Mac Windows XP Pro SP2 Shown as Insecure
Member 17th Dec, 2008 01:26
Ranking: 0
Posts: 5
User Since: 17th Dec, 2008
System Score: N/A
Location: N/A
With the latest PSI update they have started including Windows XP Pro SP2 as "Insecure". I am not installing SP3 and would like to create an Ignore rule for the SP2 flag but it doesn%u2019t offer a way to ignore it.

SP3 is not going on my PC again. I already went through SP3 once and it rendered my PC unusable. I had to reinstall the OS. It is related to the AMD vs. Intel issue. There are ways around this with Registry hacks and the like, but I'm not doing that. I will stick with SP2 until this machine is dead!

So how can I configure a rule to ignore the SP2 warning?

Thanks.

Jim

This user no longer exists RE: Windows XP Pro SP2 Shown as Insecure
Member 17th Dec, 2008 05:10
That was an issue with the first SP3 update with AMD systems but it has been fixed for 5 months now.
Was this reply relevant?
+0
-0
J_Mac RE: Windows XP Pro SP2 Shown as Insecure
Member 17th Dec, 2008 05:52
Score: 0
Posts: 5
User Since: 17th Dec 2008
System Score: N/A
Location: N/A
on 17th Dec, 2008 05:10, wrote:
That was an issue with the first SP3 update with AMD systems but it has been fixed for 5 months now.


Not true - Microsoft has not repaired the Service Pack to accommodate all PC's.

Anyway, how do I setup an Ignore rule for it?
Was this reply relevant?
+0
-0
This user no longer exists RE: Windows XP Pro SP2 Shown as Insecure
Member 17th Dec, 2008 09:28
Last edited on 17th Dec, 2008 09:30
on 17th Dec, 2008 05:52, J_Mac wrote:
Not true - Microsoft has not repaired the Service Pack to accommodate all PC's.

Anyway, how do I setup an Ignore rule for it?

Let me see some proof.

XP SP3 and continuos reboots on AMD based systems
http://social.technet.microsoft.com/forums/en-US/i...
Does your AMD-based computer boot after installing XP SP3?
Read:
o Updated Again on May 14: Not sure why I didn't think of this until now, but I wrote a small tool that will detect the IntelPPM problem and mitigate it before installing the service pack.
http://msinfluentials.com/blogs/jesper/archive/200...
Was this reply relevant?
+0
-0
J_Mac RE: Windows XP Pro SP2 Shown as Insecure
Member 17th Dec, 2008 09:42
Score: 0
Posts: 5
User Since: 17th Dec 2008
System Score: N/A
Location: N/A
Was this reply relevant?
+0
-0
This user no longer exists RE: Windows XP Pro SP2 Shown as Insecure
Member 17th Dec, 2008 13:36
Was this reply relevant?
+0
-0
sipder RE: Windows XP Pro SP2 Shown as Insecure
Member 18th Dec, 2008 11:52
Score: 0
Posts: 2
User Since: 18th Dec 2008
System Score: N/A
Location: N/A
SP3 also stops my 802.11b wireless cards from working.

MS blame the vendor, the vendor no longer supports the product.

Tim
Was this reply relevant?
+0
-0
dmemt RE: Windows XP Pro SP2 Shown as Insecure
Member 19th Dec, 2008 17:29
Score: 0
Posts: 11
User Since: 4th Dec 2008
System Score: N/A
Location: US
This is what I would try first: Go to Advanced mode, Patched tab, expand the Microsoft Windows XP PRO entry, and click the Ignore Program icon in the toolbox.

In theory that should work for whatever you don't want to update. Good luck!

--
Dana
"What, exactly, is the Internet? Basically it is a global network exchanging digitized data in such a way that any computer, anywhere, that is equipped with a device called a "modem" can make a noise like a duck choking on a kazoo." - Dave Barry
Was this reply relevant?
+0
-0
J_Mac RE: Windows XP Pro SP2 Shown as Insecure
Member 19th Dec, 2008 23:03
Score: 0
Posts: 5
User Since: 17th Dec 2008
System Score: N/A
Location: N/A
Can't. It's grayed-out.

Thanks!

Jim
Was this reply relevant?
+0
-0
English Teacher RE: Windows XP Pro SP2 Shown as Insecure
Member 29th Dec, 2008 16:38
Score: 2
Posts: 41
User Since: 27th Dec 2008
System Score: N/A
Location: IT
In fact, also on mine it is grayed out!!! So I will never have 100% Oh well....

--
Never argue with Stupid People. They just drag you down to their level and beat you with Experience.

Better to remain silent and be thought a fool, than to speak and remove all doubt.


Was this reply relevant?
+0
-0
ciupl3a RE: Windows XP Pro SP2 Shown as Insecure
Member 2nd Jan, 2009 11:52
Score: 0
Posts: 1
User Since: 28th Dec 2008
System Score: N/A
Location: N/A
on 17th Dec, 2008 01:26, J_Mac wrote:
With the latest PSI update they have started including Windows XP Pro SP2 as "Insecure". I am not installing SP3 and would like to create an Ignore rule for the SP2 flag but it doesn%u2019t offer a way to ignore it.

SP3 is not going on my PC again. I already went through SP3 once and it rendered my PC unusable. I had to reinstall the OS. It is related to the AMD vs. Intel issue. There are ways around this with Registry hacks and the like, but I'm not doing that. I will stick with SP2 until this machine is dead!

So how can I configure a rule to ignore the SP2 warning?

Thanks.

Jim

Was this reply relevant?
+0
-0
mamamunchies1@aol.com RE: Windows XP Pro SP2 Shown as Insecure
Member 4th Jan, 2009 19:18
Score: 0
Posts: 13
User Since: 29th Oct 2008
System Score: N/A
Location: N/A
I have XP PRO ,and intel petium processor and I will not upgrade to PS3 .when it first came out it downloaded to desktop,as not knowing much on it,I downloaded it and it started and then it disappered,so I just forgot about it,Seen too many problems on both processors,intel and AMD,
If you just want to get rid of any programs that are showing updates,but will not work,I have 2 office 2000 and cyberlink, I just put in IGNORE LIST and its gone,
Was this reply relevant?
+0
-0
olemanoz RE: Windows XP Pro SP2 Shown as Insecure
Member 16th Jan, 2009 23:15
Score: 0
Posts: 1
User Since: 15th Nov 2008
System Score: N/A
Location: N/A
on 2nd Jan, 2009 11:52, ciupl3a wrote:


J-MAC, never mind ignoring it, is there any way to remove it?
Was this reply relevant?
+0
-0
This user no longer exists RE: Windows XP Pro SP2 Shown as Insecure
Member 17th Jan, 2009 15:07
I guess you are looking forward to being one of the victims?
http://www.computerworld.com/action/article.do?com...
Was this reply relevant?
+0
-0
alkahatni RE: Windows XP Pro SP2 Shown as Insecure
Member 22nd Apr, 2009 09:02
Score: 0
Posts: 3
User Since: 13th Apr 2009
System Score: N/A
Location: N/A
on 17th Jan, 2009 15:07, wrote:
I guess you are looking forward to being one of the victims?
http://www.computerworld.com/action/article.do?com...
Was this reply relevant?
+0
-0
alkahatni RE: Windows XP Pro SP2 Shown as Insecure
Member 22nd Apr, 2009 09:02
Score: 0
Posts: 3
User Since: 13th Apr 2009
System Score: N/A
Location: N/A
on 17th Jan, 2009 15:07, wrote:
I guess you are looking forward to being one of the victims?
http://www.computerworld.com/action/article.do?com...
Was this reply relevant?
+0
-0
alkahatni RE: Windows XP Pro SP2 Shown as Insecure
Member 22nd Apr, 2009 09:03
Score: 0
Posts: 3
User Since: 13th Apr 2009
System Score: N/A
Location: N/A
on 17th Jan, 2009 15:07, wrote:
I guess you are looking forward to being one of the victims?
http://www.computerworld.com/action/article.do?com...
Was this reply relevant?
+0
-0
trombone_dude RE: Windows XP Pro SP2 Shown as Insecure
Member 22nd Apr, 2009 17:07
Score: 0
Posts: 49
User Since: 3rd Jan 2009
System Score: N/A
Location: US
You guys realize there is absolutely no point to installing secunia if you are going to leave things unpatched? Especially the OS. I know there were initial problems with SP3, but to my knowledge they fixed them all. SP3 is required for updates now. You need to do your research and install the service pack. Windows is insecure enough without it.

--
Asus P5QC, 2.4Ghz Intel Quad Core, 2Gb Ram, XP Pro

Asus EeePC 4G Surf, 2Gb Ram, XP Pro
Was this reply relevant?
+0
-0
This user no longer exists RE: Windows XP Pro SP2 Shown as Insecure
Member 22nd Apr, 2009 19:40
alkahatni, use Reply to send a reply not Quote

SP3 has been available for almost a year and has several Critical Security Updates so in Internet Explorer go to Tools then Windows Update and download all of the available updates.

Also you should enable Automatic Updates or at least be notified that Updates are available.

Go to Control Panel then Automatic Updates then select Automatic (recommended) or at least Notify me but don't automatically download or install them.
Was this reply relevant?
+0
-0
trombone_dude RE: Windows XP Pro SP2 Shown as Insecure
Member 22nd Apr, 2009 20:09
Score: 0
Posts: 49
User Since: 3rd Jan 2009
System Score: N/A
Location: US
I just did some checking, and the issues you guys are talking about are very easily mitigated. Even if you don't remove the file that causes the crash before installation, a quick trip to the recovery console and a few keystrokes will return your computer to normal working order. As far as the vieo drivers and wlan cards, new drivers are already out,so there are no issues anymore even IF microsoft has not rectified the issue. And before you come back for more, remember that it took me less time to do a google search and find solutions for your problems than it is taking for me to write this response. Go forth, and google! Then install SP3 and run updates.

--
Asus P5QC, 2.4Ghz Intel Quad Core, 2Gb Ram, XP Pro

Asus EeePC 4G Surf, 2Gb Ram, XP Pro
Was this reply relevant?
+0
-0
GoneToPlaid RE: Windows XP Pro SP2 Shown as Insecure
Member 23rd Apr, 2009 18:06
Score: 5
Posts: 71
User Since: 1st Apr 2009
System Score: N/A
Location: Atlanta, US
Make sure that, at minimum, you are using the most recent drivers from your motherboard manufacturer or specific chipset manufacturer for the following before installing SP3:

--Motherboard chipset drivers (which may also include updates for your particular CPU).
--Video drivers (which many times also updates the IRQ miniport drivers). Regarding video drivers, I always use the latest drivers which are available from the video chipset manufacturer's web site since these drivers fix known bugs even if the latest driver isn't MS certified yet.
--Network drivers.
--Sound drivers.
--IDE drivers.

Then, before installing SP3, check your motherboard manufacturer's web site regarding the release notes for any updated BIOS code. Look for any notes about an updated BIOS being required for SP3. If not, don't update your computer's BIOS unless you have experienced any of the problems which the updated BIOS is supposed to fix.

Finally, disable any anti-virus, anti-malware and firewall programs, and disable as many other startup programs and utilities which normally load into your system tray before running the SP3 installer. Examples are Quicktime launcher, OpenOffice.org quickstarter, JAVA quickstarter, et cetera. Also disable or uninstall any disk utilities such as Seagate Tools or MaxBlast, Acronis True Image, et cetera. Autoruns from SysInternals.com (now from Microsoft.com) is a handy utility which shows you everything which loads on startup, and is handy because it allows you to un-check all utilities which you don't want to load on startup rather than having to uninstall the particular program or utility before installing SP3. Once SP3 is installed, you can run Autoruns again to re-enable the various startup programs which you disabled.

Well, thats about all I can think of which you should do before installing SP3. Most people never have to do any of the above, assuming that they have kept their computer's drivers up to date.

:-)
Was this reply relevant?
+0
-0

This thread has been marked as locked.